« 上一頁繼續 »
orth, ad of it the lame,
a pie llina,
n the for posting French and English letters is | average; but the highest point,' on which the 10 p.m.
| Superga stands, is about 2,400 feet. In
SECTION 1.-NORTHERN ITALY.
N.B.-FOR THE ROUTES ACROSS EUROPE TO ITALY, SEE INTRODUCTION.
An asterisk (*) in the following pages denotes objects deserving special notice.
TURIN (Stat.); In Italian, Torino.
Telegraph Office, in the Piazza Castello. Population (1881), 252,832, with environs.
Resident English Vice-Consul and American ConHotels :
sular Agent. Hotel de l'Europe, Piazza Castello, opposite the | Church of England Service is performed every King's palace, five minutes' walk from the station. Sunday, at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m., in the chapel behind First-class hotel, Recommended.
the Vaudois Church, Corso Vitt. Eman. II. Hotel Feder, one of the best. Recommended.
Entrance by the side gate, Grand Hotel de la Ligurie.--A very good com
Bankers.--Messrs. Roland and Co. fortable arst-class family hotel. Moderate charges. Railways to Susa, Mont Cenis, Paris, Pinerolo. Albino Guidi, Proprietor.
Cuneo, Genoa, Milan, Ivrea, Ciriè, Castellamonte, Hotel Trombetta, one of the best in Turin, under
Biella, Arona, &c.-One to Marseilles is projected, the immediate superintendence of the new pro
via Saluzzo, and Digne. prietor, Mr. Leopold Baglioni.
Passengers by the Simplon route are booked
through from Turin to Domo d'Ossola, where they Grand Hotel de Turin.-Branch establishment of the Bernerhof at Berne, and Kraft's Hotel de
must take a fresh ticket. Nice at Nice, kept by M. Constant Kraft.
Paper money is accepted at the Railway Stations,
but only for that part of the journey which is Grand Hotel Suisse. Advantageously situated,
within Italian territory. facing the General Station.
In Italy the locomotives are called Alfieri, Dante, Baglioni's Grand Hotel and Pension d'Angleterre. Tasso, Volta, Galileo, Manzoni, and so on, after Well and conveniently situated in the Via Roma, their great men. The rail is “strada ferrata," or near the central Station.
“ferrovia." Hotel de Londres.
Races.-End of May, in the Piazza d'Armi, or dei
Armi. Restaurant de la Méridienne, 7, Rue St. Thérèse.
*Chief Objects of Notice.-Cathedral; Piazza CasKept by Antonio Bonfante.
tello; King's Palace; Armoury; Palazzo Madama Cafés.-San Carlo, in Piazza S. Carlo; De Paris;
and Picture Gallery ; Carignano Palace; Churches Cambio; Due Indie. Plain breakfast of coffee,
of S. Filippo, Corpus Domini, Madre di Dio, &c., 60 cents; dinner, 2 francs; cup of mixed
Superga (Funicular Railway), and its view; coffee and chocolate, called “beccherino," drunk
Capuchin Convent; University; Theatre Royal: at early morning; bread, in slender sticks, like Cavour's House; Statues of Cavour and D'Azeglio. quills, two feet long, called grissini, crisp and | Architecture by Guarini and Giuvara. light. The wines are Barbera, Barolo, Caluso,
TURIN, the capital of the Sardinian States and Asti, and Soma.
of the new kingdom of Italy, till the court moved Omnibuses belonging to the different hotels con to Florence, 1865, seat of a University, Archvey passengers to and from the station; 1 franc. bishopric, &c., is on the west side of the River Po. Town omnibuses, from one extremity of the city to where the Dora Riparia joins it, in a fertile plain. the other, 10 cents. Cittadini, 1 franc for one | adorned with gardens and villas (called cigne): course, and 1 franc 50 cents by the hour. The the Snowy Alps being in the distance to the north. fiacres ply for hire in the Piazza Castello. including Mont Blanc, Monte Viso (at the head of
the Po), and Monte Rosa. This plain lies at the Money.-In lire (or francs) and centesimi (or
foot of the mountains, and hence derives its name. cents). Value about the same as French francs
Piemonte (Piedmont in French), because it is a pie and centimes.
del monte. The nearest range of hills (the Collin Post Office.-In Palazzo Carignano. The latest on the south) is 1,200 feet above the sea on the hour for posting French and English letters is l average; but the bigbest point,' on which the
Superga stands, is about 2,400 feet. '
It takes name from the Taurini in Gallia Cisal- Napoleon. It commands a fine panorama; and pina, after whom the Romans called it Augusta the best view of the city is obtained from the Taurinorum. The city crest is a Bull--taurus Capuchin Monastery on the hill to the right. or toro. Few antiquities have been found. After From the Herb Market a street called Contrada the tenth century the princes of the house of d'Italia or Dora Grossa strikes north through Savoy acquired it, and at length made it their Piazza de Emanuele Filiberto to the bridge on seat, 1558, when Duke Emanuele Filiberto, one of the Dora, which is one solid granite arch, 147 the first soldiers of the age, fixed his residence feet wide and 40 broad, built by Mosca; and from here. .
Piazza Castello, Contrada Nuova runs sc uth The French took it in 1640, in Richelieu's time;
through Piazza S. Carlo to Porta Nuova and besieged it in 1706, when they were defeated by
Piazza del Rè, near the Piazza d'Armi, where it Prince Eugene; and held it from 1796 to 1814, as
is crossed by a long planted strada, which leads part of France. During the years 1802-14, the
down past the railway station to the new Maria King, Victor Emmanuel I., retired to his island of Teresa iron bridge on the Po. In this part are Sardinia. In all public papers it is styled the
several modern houses and gardens. Handsome “Illustrious City," "Countess of Gruliasco," and new streets are springing up. There are many “Lady of Beinasco."
silk and jewel shops. Size, 13 by 1 mile; circuit about 41 miles. It is The Po is a broad, dirty, and turbulent stream divided into six sezione, or sections, and laid out much swollen at the time of the spring floods. with almost the regularity of an American city, in Squares.-Of the thirteen Piazze (squares), large broad streets, the views up and down which Piazza di Savoia, or Statuto, contains an obelisk, are finely terminated by the mountains. About
erected 1848, to commemorate the abolition of thirty lines, following the direction of the cardinal
ecclesiastical power, and the establishment of the points (those east and west running to the Po,
constitutional maxim-that La Legge e equale per those north and south to the Dora), cut up the
tutti (the law is the same for all). The Mont hole into about 150 blocks of houses, most of
Cenis Fountain is by Belli. In Piazza della Città which are solid, and high, and built of brick, but
is the Hotel de Ville, with a bronze statue of with a plainness of style which is rather mono
Amadeo VI. Piazza di 8. Carlo contains Marotonaus. Arcades shelter some of the streets and
chetti's statue of Emanuele Filiberto. A statue squares, which are really square, or at least very of Paleocapa, the minister who advocated the regularly shaped. The streets are lit with gas, Mont Cenis Tunnel, was erected in 1871. and are kept clean by letting the waters of the
1 Dora, at night, into the gutters which run down
*Piazza Castello is the largest square, being the middle. Water is to be brought from the
250 yards by 200, and so called from the old castle Avigliana Lakes, near Rivoli. Granite tramways
of the Dukes of Savoy, where the Senate, or are laid for vehicles. A strong four-sided citadel,
Chamber of Peers met till 1865, and the Police one-third of a mile in diameter, formerly defended
Office is stationed. Cavour's house, *Casa Cavour, it on the west. It was built in 1565 on Pacciotto's
in which he was born 1810, has a tablet on it; system. The sites of the old ramparts (repari) are
here he died, 6th June, 1861 (see page 5 for his now covered with broad streets (strada and strade) monument). The King's Palace and Cathedral are or promenades, planted with trees.
on the north side; the Theatre Royal on the east. Turin has become more industrial of late years, | Royal Palaces.-The Castle or *Palazzo Maand possesses looms and factories, works for dama (after Madame the wife of the Duke of ivory-turning, pipes, lithography,macaroni, choco Savoia-Nemours, who lived in it) was begun in late, &c. The old houses are cleaned and painted the thirteenth century, restored by Duke Amadeo in gay colours; and hanasome new quarters have II., in 1416, and improved by Giuvara's façade, sprung up round the Piazza dei Armi, Dora 1720. It contains several offices. One of its two Riparia, &c.
old towers is used as an Observatory. Gates. Bridges, &c.There were formerly The * Royal Palace (Palazzo Reale) is a large pile, four Gates, which have left their names behind; | built by Duke Carlo Emanuele II., from the designs the Porta de Po on the east or Genoa road, Porta 1 of Castellamonte, with the gardens behind, towards Vittoria on the north, Porta Susina on the west | the Dora. It contains an Armoury. Passing (towards Monte Cenis), Porta Nuova on the south
on, you see the marble equestrian statue of his or Nice road. From Porta Susina a street or line father, Vittorio Amadeo I, On the staircase, a of streets runs parallel to the broad Contrada rich collection of Chinese and Japanese Vases, Dora Grossa through Piazza Susina and Piazza battle-pieces by Azeglio, &c.; portrait of the del Corpus Domini (or the Herb Market), to Duchess of Burgundy; busts of the Princess Piazza Castello, the principal square, where the Clotilda and the Queen of Portugal; sculpture palace, &c., stand; thence by the wide Strada del | by Piffetti (in the grand apartments); handsome Po to Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, opposite the Po chandeliers; the royal library of 30,000 volumes Bridge and Madre de Dio Church, with the Su and 1,800 MSS., including letters of Duke Emanuperga in the distance. This bridge is granite, on ele Filiberto, Prince Eugene, Bonaparte and his five arches of 80 feet span, and was begun by generals, &c.; 2,000 designs, among which are
twenty by Da Vinci, several by Raphael, Correggio, | vault fell in 1715, and rebuilt from Giuvara's and Titian; a collection of Chinese miniatures designs. It has a fine portico of fluted columns, and insects on Chinese paper.
with paintings of the Saint in one of the chapels, The *Royal Armoury (Armeria Reale), formed
and of the Assumption over the high altar, which 1833, is a good collection, containing Emanuele
is rich in precious stones, bas-reliefs, and carvings. Filiberto's arms, Prince Eugene's sword and 1 S. Lorenzo, in Piazzo Castello, is eight-sided, with pistols, and much ancient and modern armour and chapels round it, and a dome over the altar, comweapons, very picturesquely arranged, some being posed of two round cupolas, one above the other, equestrian figures. There is also a collection of and painted with frescoes of the Four Evangelists. medals, and Sardinian and Italian pieces of money. | A marble group of the Assumption is worth notice. Churches.--Close to the Palace, on the west,
The church is a work of Guarini in the sevenand fronting the Piazza di S. Giovanni, is
teenth century. The* Cathedral, or Duomo of S. Giovanni Battista
*Corpus Domini, in the Piazza of that name, was (John Baptist), on the site of a Lombard church of
built in 1607, by Vitozzi, and decorated with a prothe seventh century. It was rebuilt by Arch
fusion of ornament by Alfieri. That of S. Spirito, bishop Rovere, 1498-1505, but has nothing striking
near it, is said to occupy the site of a Temple of about it. The portal is ornamented with pilasters,
Diana, and may be noted on account of Rousseau's
abjuring Calvinism here in 1728. and the pillars are wreathed with vine leaves. It contains a marble tomb of a princess of Piedmont,
Santa Teresa, in Contrada di S. Teresa, was built with a statue of the patron saint, and the altar is
1635, by Duke Vittorio Amadeo I., and has a later very rich. In one of the six side chapels are Le façade by Aliberti (1764), with some alabaster Gros's St. Teresa Offering her Heart to God, and
groups, paintings, &c. another of St. Teresa with the Palm of Martyr
S. Carlo Borromeo, in Piazza S. Carlo, built 1619. dom. Behind the high altar, and lit by a stained
by Duke Carlo Emanuele I., from Valperga's deglass window above it, is Guarini's Del Sudario signs, is a structure of some merit. Near it is Chapel, chiefly of black polished marble, with six
Giuvara's Church of S. Cristina, with a very correct windows in it, and a cupola on columns, at the
front. top of which is a marble crown. Among the monu
Facing these churches, in the square, is
Marochetti's bronze statue of Duke Emanuele ments is Revelli's of Queen Maria Adelaide (1854), and another by Gazzini. Though adorned with
Filiberto, with bas-reliefs of the battle of St. Quenwhite marble monuments, bronzes, &c., the dark
tin (which he won, 1557), and the treaty of Château colour of this chapel gives it a very sombre appear
Cambresis (1558). ance. It takes its name from the Santo Sudario, The Jesuits' Church was built 1577 from Pelleor holy napkin, on the altar, which they say was grini's designs, and is very rich in marbles and brought from our Lord's table.
bronzes. Some good sculpture and specimens of the great
S. Tommaso, one of the oldest in the city. masters of painting are to be found in the hundred
S. Francisco de Paolo, by Pellegrini, is a good and ten Churches and Chapels (chiese) of Turin.
church, with a bust of Carnoli, the sculptor. Those most worthy of notice are the following:
Santa Maria della Piazza, one of the most ancient,
was restored 1751 after Vittone's designs. Consolata Church, in Contrada della Consolata, is
S. Domenico in that street, was founded 1214, and lightly ornamented, though irregular in its shape.
contains Guercino's Rosary. It includes an old chapel of the tenth century. In
S. Delmazza has Guercino's Christ in the Tomb. the Piazza, facing it, is an image of the Virgin,
S. Francisco was founded by St. Francis d' Aswith a votive marble column placed here after the
sissi, 1215, the façade being a work of Vittone. cholera appeared in 1835. Besides the ex-votos
S. Rocco with a dome, includes a front by Beria, are two good kneeling figures (by Veda) of Queen
of an octagon shape on eight pillars; the interior Maria Theresa and Maria Adelaide. “A poor man
by Lanfranchi. prayed to the Madonna to reveal to him some
Santa Crocette, on the Pinerolo Road, has Tintolucky numbers for the lottery: he had a dream in
retto's Descent from the Cross. which, as he imagined, she suggested a trio of
* Della Gran Madre de Dio, across the Po Bridge is numbers. He made his purchase accordingly, but
a modern church amongst woods, built by Bonsigthey turned out blanks. In revenge for this delu.
nori, to commemorate the return of the Royal sion, he attacked the image of the Madonna della
House to Turin, in 1814, and is a sort of miniature Consolazione when borne in procession through
of the Pantheon, faced with marble, and having the city to the Superga, and mutilated it with a
marble pillars, &c. Above it is the Capuchin hatchet. The mob was enraged and would have
Church of Del Monti, commanding a fine view of torn him to pieces if he had not been rescued by
the city and the plain of the Po; but a more exthe soldiers, and he was conveyed as a madman to
tended prospect is obtained from the College of the a lunatic asylum."-Canon Wordsworth.
Superga, on a mountain beyond, one and a half *8. Filippo Neri, in Contrada S. Filippo, near hour's walk to the east-north-east, but also Piazza Carignano, one of the largest and most accessible by the Funicular Rail. imposing churches here; begun by Guarini, whose ! The Tempio Valdese, or Vaudois Church, is near