« 上一頁繼續 »
should not be administereo 6 both together, but in the Iresence of many witnesses. Though this motley order was colorary to the law of the Justinian code, yet it long flourished, and numerous monasteries were subsequently founded, conformably to the Gilbertine scheme. The founder lived to see thirteen erected, in which were 700 men and 1100 women. He attained the great age of 100 years: and from his austerity, and many miracles having been performed after his death, according to legendary story, he was canonized by Pope Innocent the Third, A. D. 1202. For some centuries this order maintained its tredit for superior sanctity; but human institutions are liable to degenerate, and the brethren and sisters, in a subsequent period, departed strangely from the continency and chastity they so solemnly and rigidly professed.
The annual revenues of the priory in Sempringham, at the suppression, were valued, according to Speed, at 3591. 1 1s. 7d. The monastery stood to the north-east of the church. The site is still marked by a moated area. The church, which serves the two parishes of Poyton and Billingborough, is only a part of the ancient edifice. The transepts are down, and the chancel in ruins. The windows are lancet-shaped, and the doors have cir-" cular arches, with chevron or zigzag mouldings, and evidently point out the time of its erection to have been in the early Nör. man period.
BETTISLOE WAPENTAKE contains the parishes of Bassingthorpe cum Westby, Bitchfield, Burton Coggles, Bytham Castle, Bytham Little, Carely, Corby, Counthorpe hamHet, Creeton, Edenham, Gunby, Holywell cum Awnby chapelry, Irnham, including the hamlets of Bulby and Hawthorpe, Keisby hamlet, Lavington, alias Lenton cum Hanby, Manthorpe hamlet, Osgodby hamlet, Skillington, Stainby, Swayjield, Swinstead, Toft and Lound hamlet, Witham on the Hill, ". . . Withaus
Withan North and Twiford, including the hamlet of Lolthorpe, and Witham South. ... -
At C. Astle Byth AM was a fortified mansion, or castle, which belonge, l to Lord Hussey in the time of Henry the Seventh. In the time of William the First, this manor was the property of Odo, Earl of Albemarle and Holderness; who, having married Adeliza the Conqueror's Sister, obtained the grant of the castle, and adjoining territory, for the support of their infant son Stephen: and for t he specified purpose, that they might be enabled to feed him with wheaten bread. William de Foxtibus Earl of Albemarle, in the time of Edward the Third, rebelled against that monarch; and fortifying his castle at Bytham, plundered the surrounding country. But the fortress being besieged by the royal troops, it was levelled with the ground. It was afterwards repaired, and long remained in possession of the family of Calville.
EDENHAM, " large parish, includes the township of Edenham, Grimsthorpe, Elstlvorpe, and Scottlethorpe, with the site of the demesnes abbey of Vaudey, or de Valle Dei. This parish contains 6424 acres of land, which, excepting about 160 acres, belong to the Duke of Ancaster. The parish church, was formerly appropriated to the abbey of Vaudey, and the living is now a perpetual curacy in the gift of the above named nobleman, who is impropriator of the parish, and proprietor of the church-yard. The Church consists of a nave, with north and south ailes, a chancel, south porch, and handsome western tower. This is of more modern erection than some parts of the church, and was probably built about the time of Henry the Sixth. The western door has a flat pointed arch with quatrefoils in the groins. The ailes are separated from the nave, by four arches on each side. At the eastend of the north aile are two tablets of black marble, bordered with naval and military trophies; over which, within a garter, surmounted by an earl's coronet, is a shield containing twenty-five coats. On the first tablet is a Latin inscription to the memory of Robert
Robert Bertie, Earl of Lindsey, who fell a martyr to loyalty at the battle of Edgehill, in the time of Charles the First; the sixteenth year of his age, A. D. 1642. The other tablet records the virtues and exploits of his son H. S. E. Montacute, who in the royal cause accompanied his father; but survived the tempestuous period, dying the 25th of July, A. D. 1656, in the fifty-ninth year of his age. A mural tablet of white marble is sacred to the memory of Richard Bertie Earl of Lindsey, Lord Great Chamberlain of England, who attended James Duke of York, afterwards King James the Second, and Mareschall de Turenne, at the siege of Mouzan in 1653, and that of Landrecy, 1655. He commanded a troop of horse in Ireland, and served against the rebel Duke of Monmouth: he died a bachelor the 19th of January, A. D. 1688. On the south side of the chancel is a monument of white and varigated marble, with an inscription commemorative of Robert Lord Willoughby, who died May 9th, A. D. 1701. Opposite to this is a rich marble monument with a handsome entablature, supported by Corinthian columns, with an inscription, stating, that in a vault beneath lie the remains of Robert Bertie, created , Duke of Ancaster and Ketseven by King George the First, and who by death quitted all earthly honours, July 26th, in the year 1728. This monument was executed by L. J. Scheemakers and H. Cheere. Against the same wall is a monument consisting of a pedestal of white marble, on which is the effigy of Peregrine the second Duke of Ancaster, in a Roman dress, reclining on an urn. On the front is an inscription purporting, that he died January 1, 1741, leaving four sons and three daughters. On the south side of the chancel is a very elegant white veined marble monument, executed by Harris of London, to the memory of Peregrine, third Duke of Ancaster and Ketseven, who died in the sixty-fifth year of his age, August 12th, 1778. It also records the memory of his son Robert, fourth Duke of Ancaster, who died the 8th of J uly
1779; only eleven months after he had succeeded to the titles and estate.
In the village of EDENHAM, is GRIMsthor PE CAstle, the seat of the Duke of Ancaster. The house is a large irregular structure, and appears to have been erected at different periods. The south-east tower is the frustrum of a pyramid, embattled at top, containing a winding stone stair case, which leads to a room having windows similar to those of many ancient castles; and was probably built as early as the time of Henry the Third. The principal part of the house was erected in the time of Henry the Eighth. “The place of Grimesthorpe was no great thing afore the new building of the second court. Yet was all the old work of stone, and the gate-house was fair and strong, and the walls * on each side of it embattled, there is also a great ditch about the house".” Grimsthorpe, Fuller calls an extempore structure, raised suddenly by Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk, to entertain King Henry the Eighth, in his progress through this part of the kingdom. The great hall was fitted up to receive a suit of hangings made of gobelin tapestry, which the duke came into possession of by his wife Mary, Queen of France. About that time the east, west, and south fronts were erected, which have embattled turrets at the angles. In the north-east tower is the kitchen, and the north-west tower contains a beautiful chapel. The ground-floor of the east front consists of offices, over which is the principal dining-room, ornamented with a collection of pictures, and fine portraits. The south and west fronts have numerous smaller rooms. The handsomest part of the building is the north frout, which was erected between the years 1722 and 1723, from a design, and under the direction of that celebrated architect, Sir John Vanbrugh, who, according to Sir Joshua Reynolds, displayed more imagination in his buildings than any other architect. This front consists of two lofty wings, balustraded at top, and a pinnacle at
each corner. -
* Leland's Itin, Vol. I. fol. 26.
This magnificent structure stands in a fine park sixteen miles in circumference. On the north side of the castle is an avenue, which extends three quarters of a mile. To the south are the gardeus and pleasure grounds. On the east side the view embraces the hamlet of Grimsthorpe, with the Lordship of Edenham; and on the west, a beautiful sloping lawn descends to two lakes, comprising about an hundred acres: beyond which arising ground is terminated by a grove of forest trees. : In the park, about a mile from the present inansion, formerly stood a Cistertian abbey, founded by William Earl of Albemarle, about the year 1451. It was called, WALLls Dei, and vulgarly Vaudy. Gilbert de Gamb was a great benefactor, and Ganfred de Brachecurt gave the whole of his estate at Brachcurt to it, upon condition that the monks should maintain him and his wife with . two servants in all necessaries so long as they both should live;
with the additional proviso, that they should have double allow2nce.
NESS WAPENTAKE contains the parishes of Barholm, Baston, Braceborough, Carlby, Deeping St. James, Deeping Market, Deeping West, Greatford, Langtoft, Stowe, Tallington, Thurlby, Uffington, Wilsthorpe, and the Town of Stamford. At the eastern end of this wapentake is
MARKET DEEPING, . . . .
A small market town, which derives its name from the situation. The land to the east of it is said to be relatively the lowest in the whole county. Ingulphus observes, that Deeping signifies a low meadow. He also states, that Richard de Rulos, Chamberlain to William the Conqueror, raised a lofty artificial bank to confine the waters of the river Welland, which before used frequently to over
- flow ;