« 上一頁繼續 »
uniform elevations, without any architectural decorations. The apartments are numerous, lofty, and well-proportioned. Several are ornamented with excellent carving by Gibbons, and the chapel is wainscotted with cedar. ----- ** ------- a * In the year 1776, the late Lord Brownlow employed that distinguished architect, James Wyatt, Esq. to make improvements in the building. By his direction a cupola and balustrade were removed from the roof; the drawing-room, which measures forty feet by twenty-seven, was raised to the height of twenty-two feet, and a new entrance was added at the south front. In several of the apartments are many good pictures by eminent masters, of the Flemish and Italian schools, with numerous family portraits by Lely, Kneller, Reynolds, Romney, and others. Amongst them is a peculiarly fine one of Sir John Cust, Bart. Speaker of the House of Commons, in his robes, by Sir Joshua Reynolds; a half length copy of which by Ruyssen, a present of the late Lord Brownlow, is in the state apartments of the Speaker of the House of Commons.” The founder of this stately fabric had the honour of a visit from king Willian the Third, who, on his progress through the northern countries, was entertained at Belton house the 29th of October, 1695. Previous to that event he had obtained, in 1690, a licence of the king and queen, to form a park of his lands in Belton, Londonthorpe, and Telthorpe, which he enclosed with a wall five miles in circumference, and at the same time he made numerous plantations; the trees of which, now become' large timber, are lighly ornamental to the place. His nephew, Sir John Brownlow, K.B. created 1718 Viscount Tyrconnel, fitted up the library with a choice and valuable collection of books, and formed gardens of great extent and magnificence in the prevailing taste of that age; these have since been modernized and laid out in a style more congenial with rural scenery. The church at Belton is a small ancient structure". The * * *- :- ... '" tower
* The arches of the nave and the font are probably of the 11th century. The manor and advowson were, at the dissolution of monasteries, in the possession of St. Mary's Abbey in the City of York.
tower has on it the date 1637, at which time it was re-built by Richard Brownlow, Esq. The chancel also was re-built by Dame Alicia Brownlow, who died 1721. The church is kept extremely meat, and in the south window are six pieces of modern stained glass, representing parts of scripture history. Within the nave and chancel are many fine monuments to the memory of the families of Brownlow and Cust. • -, ---- -: *an - - ** At the village of DENton, anciently spelt DENTUNE, was discovered in the year 1727, a mosaic pavement... It lay about eighteen inches beneath the surface, and was composed of white, red, and blue tessellae; forming a pattern, which consisted of squares and lozenges. The lozenges were ornamented with chequer work, and the squares with gordian knots; it measured about thirty feet square. This formed the floor of a room, which Dr. Stukeley, who examined the place, supposed was the site of a Roman villa. A view of this pavement has been engraved by Mr. Fowler, who discovered part of another pavement, eight feet square, composed of similar colours, but of a richer pattern: this is also engraved in his “collection of Roman pavements.” . Near this place passes a Roman vicinal way, called Salter's road. .. On the Denton estate is a spring of very pure water, similar to that of Malvern Wells in Worcestershire. The spring is much frequented, and many medical virtues are ascribed to its waters. The church is a small structure, and contains some monuments to the Williams's, the Welby's, and the Cholmley's. ... An almshouse was erected and endowed by William Welby, Esq. in the year 1653, for six poor persons, who have a weekly allowance in money, and an annual allowance for coals. Eastward of the church is a school-house, which is endowed for twenty-four poor children. Formerly there were three families of distinction in this parish, the Thorold's, the Williams's, and the Welby's. Some remains of houses belonging to the former are still standing in the village. The Welby's came from Gedney, in the division of * - - - Holland, Holland, in which church are several ancient monuments to the memory of the family. DeNTon Hous E is the property and residence of Sir William Earle Welby, Bart. M. P. The mansion, which is a large handsome building in the modern style, has received considerable additions from the proprietor. It stands on a fine elevation, in a well planted park, which is generally, and deservedly admired for the pleasing irregularity of the ground, and for the fine woods and water with which it is highly ornamented.
* . In the western corner of this Soke, eight miles, south of Grantham, is the village of Colsterworth, which will ever be celebrated in the records of history, for having given birth to that great luminary, in the hemisphere of science, SIR. Isa Ac Newton. Of whom it may be more justly said, than of any person who has either preceded or followed him: * . ***
* , ; “Ergo vividavis animi pervicit et extra . . . . . . . ... Processit longe flammantia maenia mundi s
Atque omne immensum peragravit mente animoque.”. • * * *
Isaac Newton was born at the manor house of Woolsthorpe, a hamlet in this parish, on Christmas-day 1642; about three months after the death of his father, who was a descendant from the elder branch of the family of John Newton, Bart. and was lord of this manor. When a child, Isaac lived with his maternal Grandmother Aiscough, and went to two small day schools, at Skillington, and Stoke, till he was twelve years of age. At which time he was sent to the free grammarschool of Grantham, where, under the tuition of Mr. Stokes, he shewed a partiality for mechanics, and displayed early tokens of that uncommon genius, which afterwards “filled, or rather comprehended the world.” After continuing at Grantham a few years,
years, his mother took him home, for the purpose of managing his own estate; but his exalted mind could not brook such an occupation, and he returned again to school. Soon afterwards he went to Cambridge, where he was admitted into Trinity College the fifth of June, 1660. The first books he read with his college tutor, were Sanderson's Logic and Kepler's Optics. A desire to discover, whether there was any truth in the pretensions of judicial astrology, a science then popular, induced him to study mathematics. And having discovered its fallacy, in a figure he raised for the purpose, from a few Problems in Euclid, he ever after discarded the contemptible study. He however at that time turned aside Euclid, looking upon it as a book containing nothing but obvious truths, and applied himself to the study of Descarte's Geometry. To try some experiments on the doctrine of colours, advanced by that philosopher, he purchased a prism, in the year 1664; when he discovered the hypothis to be erroneous, and at the same time laid the foundation of his own theory of light and colours. About that period he discovered the method of infinite calculus, or Fluxions; the invention of which was claimed by Leibnitz, although it has been proved", that the “ Lecalcul differential” was borrowed from the English philosopher. In the year 1665, having retired to his own estate, on account of the plague, the falling of an apple from a tree in his garden first suggested his system of gravity. And it is a singular case, that he laid the foundations of nearly all his discoveries before he was twenty-four years of age; and communicated them in loose tracts and letters to the Royal Society. Of those an ample account is given in the “Commercium Epistolicum.” In 1667 he was elected fellow of his own college, and Dr. Barrow resigned the professorship of mathematics to him in 1669. In 1671 he was elected fellow of the Royal Society. In 1688 he was returned by the University of Cambridge to the Convention Parliament, in which he sate till its dissolution. The Earl of Halifax, then Chancellor of the Exchequer, and a great patron of learning, obtained for him the appointment of Warden of the Mint. This afforded him frequent opportunities of employing his time and skill in mathematics and chemistry; and occasioned him to produce his table of “Assays of foreign Coins,” printed at the end of Dr. Arbuthnott's “Book of Coins.” In 1697, he received from Bernovilli a celebrated Problem, which was intended to puzzle all the mathematicians in Europe; but our philosopher solved it in a few hours. In 1699, he was made “ Master and Worker of the Mint;” and in 1701 he appointed Mr. Whiston his deputy in the Mathematical Chair at Cambridge, allowing him the whole emoluments for the performance of its duties: though he did not resign the professorship till 1703; in which year he was chosen President of the Royal Society. This situation he held till his death, which happened the 21st of March 1726-7. He had previously received the honour of knighthood from Queen Anne, at Cambridge, in the year 1705. Sir Isaac was of the middle stature, of a comely aspect, temperate in his diet, and of a meek disposition. He was courteous and affable; and modesty and generosily were eminently conspicuous in his character. He was never married, and the manor and estate descended to the heir at law, Mr. John Newton, who sold it to the family of Turnor, of Stoke Rochford; and is now the property of Edmund Turnor, Esq. of that place”. The manor-house is still standing.
* “Commercium Epistolicum, D. Johannis Collins, et aliorum de Analysi praemata: jussu Societatis Regiae in lucem editum, 4to. Londini', 1712.”
“Here Newton dawn'd, here lofty wisdom woke,
* Memoirs of Sir Isaac Newton, sent by Mr. Conduitt, to Monsieur Fontenelle, in 1727, and published in Turnor's “Collections for a History of the Town and Soke of Grantham.”