網頁圖片
PDF
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][graphic]
[graphic]
[ocr errors]

mamented with crockets on the angles, and at three several distances, encircled with windows, having triangular heads. The height of the tower, to the battlements, is 135 feet, and thence to the top of the weathercock:138, making together 278 feet. The nave, or choir, as it is called, including the chancel and side ailes, measures in length, inside, one hundred, and sixteen feet, and eighty feet in breadth. no - * * * ***, *** * * * * *

Within the church are several handsome monuments to the memory of different families of distinction. One to Sir Thomas Bury, Knight, Lord chief Baron of the Exchequer in the time of George the First.” A sumptuous marble monument, with the figure of justice, and a medallion representing Lord Chief Justice Ryder, who died May 5th, 1756, a day before the patent could pass by a warrant issued for the purpose of creating him Baron Harrowby. A magnificent monument, consisting of a pyramid of blue marble, and a sarcophagus of white, and a bust or. namented with various naval trophies, with the arms of Cust, to the memory of William Cust, Esq. “a brave and judicious sea officer, who having signalized himself in a series of dangerous and successful enterprizes, was unfortunately killed by a cannon ball, March 8th, 1747; erected by his uncle, the late Right Honourable Wiscount Tyrconnel.”

The font in this church is a handsome specimen of ancient sculpture. It stands upon a pedestal of two steps. The shape is octangular. The base of the shaft is ornamented with heads and alternate roses. On the shaft are statues of various saints placed in niches; and round the font, under crocketted canopies, many figures in basso relievo. These are intended to represent the seven sacraments. “

The vestry has been fitted up to receive a large number of books, which were left by the will of the late Rev. John Newcome, D. D. Master of St. John's College, Cambridge.” He was a native of Grantham, and bequeathed them as a public library, for the use of the inhabitants in the town and neighbourhood.

- In the church of Grantham were founded two vicarages, distinguished by the names of North and South Grantham, to the former of which were annexed the livings, of North Gunnerby and Londonthorpe, and to the latter South Gunnerby and Braceby. These are in the patronage of two prebendaries, who bear the same names in the cathedral, church of Salisbury; and were granted to that church by a charter of Bishop Osmund, dated the 5th of April, 1091, at Hastings; where it was confirmed by William Rufus, in the fourth year of his reign. The want of houses for the residence of the vicars was supplied by the pious bequest of Bishop Saunderson, and the two vicarages, with their profits, were consolidated in 1714, under the name of “the united vicarage of Grantham;” from which time the two prebendaries were to have the alternate right of presentation. . Grantham was first incorporated under a charter granted by King Edward the Fourth, A. D., 1463. The jurisdiction of the corporation, extends over the whole soke, and “ the general sessions of the peace for the town and soke, are held by warrant of the alderman, directed to the bailiff of the liberties, who acts as sheriff of the town and soke, the sheriff of the county having no authority within the soke and district thereof".” The guild-hall was rebuilt under an act obtained for the purpose in the year 1787, by a rate levied upon the soke; in addition to which the Duke of Rutland and Lord Brownlow gave each 300l. to erect a large apartment for the occasional accommodation of the corporation, and to serve as an assembly-room for the use of the town. * * * * : A free school was founded here, by Richard Fox, Bishop of Winchester, and further endowed by King Edward the Sixth with the possessions of two dissolved chantries. The schoolhouse of stone attracts attention, from the circumstance of its having been a place of education. to that astonishing genius, Sir Isaac Newton, who here studied the classics for several years. Grantham Grantham sends two members to the British senate, has a weekly market on Saturdays, and five annual fairs. From the returus under the population act, the number of houses is 651, occupied by 3,303 inhabitants.

* Turnor's Collections for the History of the Town, &c.

Without Spittlegate, at what is termed Grantham Spaw, a salutary spring rises out of sandy ground, the water of which is a mild chalybeate, contains a small portion of aerated iron, and is specifically lighter than common spring water.

A Canal has lately been cut from Graatham to the river Trent, an extent of twenty-five miles. It is supplied with water by means of large reservoirs made for the purpose. The level line from Grantham to Woolsthorpe Point is supplied by a reservoir, which covers twenty-seven acres of land, in the parishes of Denton and Harlaxton. This is fed by the flood waters of Denton rivulet. The other part of the line, from Woolsthorpe Point to the Trent, has a fall of one hundred and forty feet, and is supplied by a reservoir, comprising fifty-two acres, at Knipton. In 1798 the sum of 114,7341. had been expended on the undertaking; at which time the tonnage amounted to 4381. since that period it has annually averaged more. The chief articles conveyed by this navigation are corn and coals.

BELtoN House, two miles north of Grantham, the residence of Lord Brownlow, is situated on a beautiful lawn, in a finely wooded valley, through which flows the river. Witham. The reversion of the manor and estate of Belton, after the death of Sir Henry Pakenham and Jane his wife, was purchased by Richard Brownlow, chief prothonotary in the court of common pleas, in the year 1620. The present mansion house was begun by Sir John Brownlow, Bart. in the year 1685, from designs, it is conjectured, of Sir Christopher Wren, and finished in 1689.

The form of the building, like many houses of the same period, is that of the letter H; which, though not approved of by modern architects, possesses considerable advantages in point of convenience and utility. The house, built of stone, presents four uniform

« 上一頁繼續 »