網頁圖片
PDF

hends an area of about 500 feet in diameter. Here are some tumuli, called the Round Hills. . . . .

The church of Aswar.BY has an elegant tower and spire; and adjoining the village is the mansion and park of Sir Christopher Whichcote, Bart. o

*** * * ** -

o - - - — * - Los

- ----- . - ****, * ***

WINNIBRIGGS AND THREO WAPENTAKE contains the parishes of Allington, Borrowby, Boothby Pagnell, Harrowly, Haydor, Honington, Humby Little hamlet, Ponton Little, Ropsley, Sedgebrook, Somerby, Spittlegate, Haughton and Walton hamlets, Stoke North hamlet, Stroxton, Syston, Welby, Wilsford, Woolsthorpe, and Wywell and Hungerton. o

* At LITTLE Ponto N various Roman remains, have been discovered at different periods. In this village is a handsome modern mansion, begun by the late Lord Witherington, who built the south side. Additions were made by Mr. Day, who bequeathed it to Mr. Prettyman; the latter gentleman erected the west front; and it is now the residenced of his son, William Prettyman, Esq. The house, which is handsomely built of stone, though erected at different times, preserves an uniformity of plan, and is situated on a fine lawn, surrounded by plantations of luxuriant growth. About a mile from the village of

HoNINGTON, is a small Roman summer camp, which was defended by a double foss and vallum. Near it vast quantities of coins, contained in urns, have been found.

, so is -------

Ropsley is famous for having been the birth-place of Richard For, Bishop of Winchester, who built and endowed the free school of Grantham, from which circumstance he is said, by the author of “The Magna Britannia,” to have been a native of

[ocr errors]

that town. He received his education in the university of Cambridge, and became president of Pembroke Hall, to which seminary, on his demise, he bequeathed some curious hangings of tapestry, with a for interwoven in the pattern. Removing from college to the court, he commenced politician, and soon made a distinguished figure. He was not only instrumental in establishing the claim of King Henry the Seventh to the kingdom, but also continued to be one of his principal cabinet ministers after he was settled on the throne. For these eminent services the prince rewarded him by preferment to the valuable bishopric of Winchester. But in his exaltation he appears either to have forgotten, or purposely overlooked, his alma mater; for he bestowed a portion of his great wealth in founding Corpus Christi College in Oxford. He continued in the see twenty-seven years, and was buried in his own cathedral. At the village of

Woolsthorpe, near Belvoir Castle, about forty years ago, under an idea that coal might underlay this part of the country, the Duke of Rutland had the ground bored to the depth of 169 feet, where a stratum of soft coal, fourteen inches thick, was discovered. The miners bored deeper, but without further success. They again bored at Braunston, three miles to the west, to the depth of 469 feet, but no coal was found; nor did the strata appear similar to that at Woolsthorpe.

- ** **, * so- * ..to o of -* --GRANTHAM, with the SOKE, contains the parishes of Barkstone, Braceby, Belton, Colsterworth, Denton, Easton hamlet, Grantham, Gonerby Great, Harlarton, Londonthorpe, Manthorpe, Ponton Great, Sapperton, and Stoke South, alias Stoke Rochford.

3 C 3 GRANTHAM, * : * * * : * ~ *.*** . . . . . . . v. . . . 360

GRANTHAM,

A market and borough town, is the principal place in the sok", or wapentake, to which it gives name, and over which it exercises exclusive jurisdiction. In Stowe's Chronicle, Grantham is said to have been built by Gorbomannus, King of Britain, 303 years prior to the Christian aera. Such stories are entitled to little credit; but it appears from history, that Grantham possessed peculiar privileges at an early period, and was the residence of a suffragan bishop". At the time of the Norman survey, this place was held in royal demesne; for in Domesday Book it is recorded, that Editha, Queen of Edward the Confessor, had a manor in Grantham, and twelve carucates at Geld. Maud, William the Conqueror's Queen, held the town and soke as part of the king's demesne. In the forty-second year of King Henry the Third, that monarch being greatly distressed by the parliament, which refused to grant him supplies, among other plans for raising money, mortgaged, to his uncle, William de Valence, Earl of Pembroke, the towns of Grantham and Stamford. Near the point, where a small stream, called the Mowbeck, joins the Witham, formerly stood the castle; but no traces of the building remain: and the only evidence that the town had a castle, arises from the adjoining street being called Castlegate; and the description in ancient deeds of certain tenements, which belonged to the chantry of St. Mary, as situated in Castle Dyke. The names of the three other principal streets of the present town, called Westgate, Watergate, and Swinegate, evidently denote that Grantham was once encompassed with a wall, but no vestiges of it are now to be seen. On the 22d of March, 1642, this place was taken, for King Charles the First, by the forces under the command of Colonel Charles Cavendish, who made 360 prisoners, with all the captains and officers, together with three loads of arms and ammunition, and afterwards demolished. the works".

* .. - so * * * *

* This ecclesiastical officer was appointed to assist the bishop of the diocess, and called by Sir Edward Coke, “a bishop's vicegerent.”

“About this time,” says De Foe, “it was, that we began to hear of the name of Oliver Cromwell, who, like a little cloud, rose out of the east, and spread first into the north, till it shed down a flood that overwhelmed the three kingdoms. When the war first broke out, he was a private captain of horse, but now commanded a regiment; and joining with the Earl of Manchester, the first action in which we heard of his exploits, and which emblazoned his character, was at Grantham, where, with only his own regiment, he defeated twenty-four troops of horse and dragoons of the king's forcest.” Near the south entrance into the town, on St. Peter's t hill, formerly stood an elegant Cross, erected by King Edward the First, in memory of Eleanor his queen, who died 1290, this being one of the places where the corpse was laid in state, in its way for interment in Westminster Abbey. Grantham had several religious houses, ruins of which may still be seen. A priory of grey friars, called also franciscans, from the founder of their order, and minorites from their assumed humility, was founded here A. D. 1290. “The Angel Inn, which took its name from some representations of angels cut in stone, with several other religious devices about the building, was a commandery of the Knights Templars $.” The front of this inn displays some curious grotesque ornaments, and has three projections, with mullioned windows, &c.

3 C 4 The

* Mercurius Belgicus. t Memoirs of a Cavalier.

# “Of the church dedicated to St. Peter, said to have stood here, I have not been able to find any traces, except the mention made of the chantry of St. Peter, in Grantham.” Turnor's Collections for the History of the Town and Soke of Grantham.

§ Turnor's Collections, &c. p. 37.

The following notices are contained in an index written by Bishop Sanderson. “Spittlegate hospital, 2 Edward IV. Richard Bloer, master.s 13 Henry VII. Mr. Thomas Islam, master of the hospital of St. Leonard, otherwise called rector of the parochial church of Spittal".” so of so In the present church, and in that of St. Peter's were five chantries, respectively dedicated to Corpus Christi, St. John, St. George, the Blessed Virgii, and the Holy Trinity, The two latter of which were given by King Edward the Sixth for the further endowment of a free school. The Church, consisting of a nave, with spacious north and south; ailes, and lighted by large handsome pointed windows, is celebrated for the elegance of its spire. At what time the present church was built is not recorded, “The style of architecture is that prevalent in the thirteenth-century; though Mr. Gough observes, that it was endowed by Hugh, Bishop of Lincoln, A. D. 1100, The crypt under the south aile of the church, now used as a charnel house, is the most ancient part of the building, and probably formed part of the former church, which was endowed as above described. The church underwent considerable repairs in 1628, the estimates of which amounted to 1450l. In 1651 the top of the steeple was blown down, and rebuilt by subscription, as appears by a table, containing a list of benefactors on that occasion, placed in the church. In 1797; it suffered by:lightening, which displaced a stone on the south side, and broke off two or three of the crockets, which fell through the roof into the church. This elegant part of the fabric consists of a quadrangular tower, containing three stories, the first of which is lighted by oneomullioned window on each side; the second by pairs of windows, with pointed arches; and the third by one large window, with two smaller lateral ones, having triangular heads. At each angle of the parapet, which is pierced with quatrefoils, is an hexangular, crocketted pinnacle. Over this, in beautiful, proportion, rises, its octagonal spire, or.* * *** **: . namented

%. * Sanderson's Index, p. 629, as quoted by Turnor.

« 上一頁繼續 »