« 上一頁繼續 »
-* A. D. 1546. “Item, paid in expenses iidays at Covetre, when we sold the plate ther, for our horses and owneselves, IIIs. Id.” : “ Item, for a lode of lyme IIIs., a lode of sand, IIIid.” “Sold a hundred and a quarter and seven pound of iron for 6s. 24d.” “Solde to Jhon Eyryke the organe chamb', v1.11s, vid.” “Solde to Symon Nyx the florth and the vente that the George stood on, IIIs.” Four hundred and a quarter of brass was sold for 19s. per cwt. to one man, and 3 cwt. and 3 qu. was sold to another at the same price, and one hundred to a William Taylor. “. Solde to Ryc". Raynford the sepulchre light, waying iii score and xvlb. at IIId. ob, a lb. xxis. Xol. ob.” “Solde to Mr. Newcome c pounds waight of the organ pypes, xv Is.” In the year 1550–" Item, reco for the post horse, xxvis. Ixd." —In the same year is a charge of “viiId. for grasse for the post horse;” and IIIs. v.d. for grass for the same in Beaumont Leys. In 1553. “Receivid of Nictles Goldesmethe, for if sherts yo was for Seynte Nicoles, and a hold towell of dyap. worke, IIs. v1.11d.” By an entry of this year, 11.6s. 8d. was paid for the priests' wages for “twelve months.” In 1554, there was “p" for dressyng and hesyng Sent George, harnes, vis. VIId.” In 1559. “Rec" in Lincolne farthyngs, IIs. IId.—Rec" for the Maurys dance for chyldren, IIIs.”—Ale for the ringers, “when the quenes grace was pilamyd, VIIId.” In 1561. “Rec" for serten stufe lent to the players of Fosson VId.”—“Paid for Birdlime, IIIId,” In 1563. “Paid for wym for the communiun at Estur, ii; quartes of maness, and Ix quartes of claret wyne, IIIIs. VId.” In 1570-1. “Paid unto Yreland, for cuttynge downe the ymages hedes in the churche, xxd.” and xIId. was paid for taking down the angels wings. - . 1684, “Paid Francis Hooke for his Majes" declaration for - - the
the times when his Majesty touches for healing.”—This “declara-
and zealously enforced the doctrine of the Trinity; which the latter as violently denied and opposed, in the evening. This dispute excited much notoriety, and occasioned very full assemblies. As religious zeal often produces intemperate language, and this stimulates the bad passions of men, we might rationally expect to find both actively exerted upon a subject like the present. Accordingly, at one time, the sexton stopped Mr. Jackson on the pulpit stairs, and opposed his preaching: at another time, the same preacher was commanded by the churchwardens to leave the pulpit, in the midst of his discourse. This dispute was at length settled by a process of law—and it appears, among the entries in the books already quoted, that the churchwardens “Paid to the ringers, upon news that the parish's appeal to the arches was allowed good against Mr. Jackson, 6s.”—Another sum of 6s. was paid them “when the good news came of the parish's casting Mr. Jackson in the Duchy Chamber.”—The bill for retaining council on this occasion amounted to 36l. 17s.6d. • The altar piece in this church, representing the Ascension, and painted by C. F. Wanni, was presented by Sir William Skeffington, Bart. The parish register records the calamitous effects of a plague which raged here in the years 1610 and 1611—during which period above 166 persons were buried in this parish. In the marriage register is an entry of the names of Thomas Tilsey and Ursula Russel, the first of whom being “deofe and also dombe,” it was agreed by the bishop, mayor, and other gentlemen of the town, that certain signs and actions of the bridegroom should be admitted instead of the usual words enjoined by the protestants' marriage ceremony. “First he embraced her with his armes, and tooke her by the hande, put a ringe upon her finger, and laide his hande upon his harte, and upon her harte, and helde up his handes towards heaven; and, to shew his continuance to dwell with her to his lyves ende, he did it by closing of his eyes with his hands, and diggime out the earthe with his fete, and pullinge as though he would ringe a bell, with diverse other signes approved.” w ... In In a part of the church called Heyrick's chancel, are tombs.
and inscriptions to several persons of that family, who “ derived
change. After many years of severe and dangerous services, he
died at Leicester, as the inscription informs us, on his way to Bristol, for the recovery of his health, 1765t.” It may be observed of this, and the other churches of Leicester, that their floors are considerably lower than the level of the church-yards,
* Throsby's History, &c. of Leicester, p. 271, where, and in his “Leicestershire Views,” is a “pretty full pedigree,” &c. of this “ancient and respectable family.”
t Walk through Leicester, p. 16.
and the streets; whence it is inferred, that the latter must have gradually accumulated from rubbish, &c. posterior to the building of the former, which are entered by a descent of several steps. Besides the foregoing churches on the establishment, Leicester contains some chapels, or meeting-houses, belonging to different sects of dissenters. The principal of these, called the Presbyterian or Great Meeting-house, was built in 1708, and has seats calculated to accommodate eight hundred persons. Opposite this is another meeting-house, appropriated to a sect denominated Independents: near which is another religious structure, raised in 1803, by, and for the use of a society, known by the title of Episcopalian Baptists. The County Gaol was erected in this town, in the year 1791, at an expense of six thousand pounds, which were raised by a countyrate. It occupies the site of an old prison, and is built after the plan recommended by Mr. Howard, with solitary cells, &c. The architect was George Moneypenny, who, unfortunately, was doomed to be one of the first prisoners for debt. In the front elevation are sculptured, in bold relief, the Cap of Liberty, the Roman fasces and pileus encircled by heavy chains: beneath which, in large letters, the name of the architect. The Town Gaol is a commodious stone building, designed by Mr. Johnson, a native of this town, and executed by Mr. Firmadge. On taking down the old gaol, in 1792, for the purpose of erecting the present, the labourers discovered the remains of the chapel of St.John, which was supposed to have been destroyed during the contests between Henry the Second and his son. A regular semicircular arch of stone, with ornaments of chevron work, was taken from these ruins, and preserved by Mr. Throsby, the industrious historian of the town: who had also fragments of a Roman column, several pieces of Roman pottery, many coins, and other relics of antiquity. The Free Grammar School, according to Leland and Carte, was founded by Thomas Wigston, who was a prebendary of the collegiate church, where his, remains were interred. This school was considerably augmented and new-established in 1573, in the fifteenth