網頁圖片
PDF

inspired son of Esculapius had accidentally succeeded in some cases, he failed in the present.

STUBLEY was long the residence of the original family of the Holts, a memorable name in these parts. The house appears to have been built by Robert Holt, Esq. in the reign of Henry the Eighth, and consists of a centre with two wings. “It contains within much carving in wood, particularly a rich and beautiful screen between the hall and parlour, with a number of crests, cyphers, and cognizances belonging to the Holts, and other neighbouring families. It was abandoned for the warmer and more fertile situation of Cartleton, by Robert Holt, Esq. about the year 1640 *.” - On flock around the self-created doctor, and confidently swallow any harmless, or powerful composition he may recommend. Among such a concourse a few must acquire health and sounduess, and though the prescription did not in the least contribute towards this, yet the whole cure is ascribed to the medicine, and credulity both confides in, and loudly extols its unexceptionable virtues. During my stay in Manchester, I heard of three instances where an illiterate old woman, an ignorant farrier, and an impudent weaver all assumed superior knowledge in anatomy and medicine, and arrogantly assumed the profession of physician or surgeon; but what was more surprising, each of these was consulted by a numerous flock of patients, among whom were some persons of property. Since therefore credulity and folly are so prevalent, it is not to be wondered at that knavery and cunning should occasionally prey upon them. Though the superstitious fears of ghosts and emchantments have nearly subsided, a superstitious respect to quack medicines and pompous nostrums, occupies the place in the minds of the iliiterate; and it is difficult to say which be the most absurd and degrading folly of the two. In the chapelry of Whitworth lived two persons known by the name of the Whitworth Doctors, whose fame at one time spread all over the neighbourhood, and even to the metropolis and other parts of the kingdom. “They were chiefly noted for setting broken and dislocated bones, and for the cure of cancerous and other tumours by caustics, properly termed by themselves keen. Not less than one hundred persons annually take lodgings in Whitworth to be under their care, besides the great resort of occasional visitants. With very reasonable charges they have realized handsome fortunes, which

they enjoy with the general esteem of their neighbours.” escription of the Country round Manchester, p. 250.

* Whitaker's History of Whalley, p. 436.

On the bank of the Beil is the ancient house of BELFIELD, formerly part of the possessions of the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem, and, after the dissolution of that order, the property of the Butterworths, of whom Alexander Butterworth, Esq. dying in extreme old age, devised this, and other considerable estates to Richard Townley, son of a younger son of Royle Townley. In

the township of Batterworth is CLEgg-HALL, a strong square building, apparently of James the First's time. It was built by the Ashtons, of Little-Clegg, and is the only estate within the parish which still continues in the local family name.

Fox Holes, to the north of Rochdale, is the seat of John Entwisle, Esq. who inherits it under the will of his kins. man, Robert Entwisle, Esq. The present mansion was built by Mr. Entwisle, on the site of the old hall, in 1792. The family of Entwisle are of great antiquity in this county, and were originally seated at Entwissell, which Camden styles “a neat and elegant house, formerly belonging to an honourable family of that name.” They derive their descent from Sir Bertyne or Berthram Entwissell, Viscount and Baron of Bryhoke, in Normandy, who, for his eminent services, was knighted at the battle of Agincourt. He was slain, in support of Henry the Sixth, at one of the battles of St. Albans. His family quitted their paternal estate in the six

teenth century, and fixed their residence at Foxholes. Rochdale and its vicinity are considered as the centre of that provincial phraseology, known by the name of the LancashireDialect, and which has acquired some literary notoriety by the humorous writings of Tim Bobbin. Of this quaintly jocose author, whose name was John Colli ER, a few particulars will not be irrelevant. He was born near Warrington, and was first intended by his father for the church; but instead of that he was placed with a Dutch-loom-weaver. Disliking this sedentary life, he comme, ced itinerant school-master, and taught both by day and night. After wandering about precariously for some time, he obtained an humible humble settlement at a free-school at Milnrow, near Rochdale, where himself and Mr. Pearson, a curate, jointly shared the salary of twenty pounds a year. Here he fancied himself independent, and this golden dream was almost verified in his imagination on the death of his partner, as Tim was then nominated sole master. He had previously kept an evening school, which was now relinquished; though from motives of saving prudence, he employed the Christmas and Whitsuntide vacations in teaching at Oldham, and some other places in the vicinity. He also began to study music and drawing, and pursued these facinating arts with such avidity and zeal, that he was soon enabled to instruct others in both. These acquirements not only proved amusing, but lucrative; and having succeeded in delineating some caricature heads, figures, and groups, he sold a great number of them to travellers, and even to the Liverpool merchants. Early in life he discovered some poetical talents, or rather an easy habit for humorous rhyme, with which he annoyed a few dull blockheads and arrogant coxcombs. Though these provoked the enmity of some, they procured him the friendship of others. The first regular poetical composition which he published, was styled the Blackbird, and intended to ridicule a Lancashire justice, who was more known for political zeal and ill-timed loyalty, than good sense and discretion. “ In point of easy, regular versification, perhaps this was his best specimen, and it also exhibited some strokes of true humour.” Marrying about this time, his domestic cares and expences increased, and to provide for the latter, he was obliged to be additionally industrious. Besides the duties of his school and teaching music, he repeatedly laboured at the easel, and painted altar-pieces for chapels, and signs for public-houses. Having a retentive memory, and associating a good deal with tile unsophisticated natives of the county, he had attended to, and treasured up all the local terms and phrases, with the vulgar and obsolete words used in common discourse by the lower classes. These at length he committed to the press in the form of dialogue, and published under the title of “Tim Bobbin's Lancashire Dialect.” . Its novelty and humour

* StJ Qii

2

soon excited public curiosity, and not only rendered a second
edition necessary, but provoked some mercenary publishers to
pirate it. While the former gratified the moderate ambition of the
author, the latter provoked his indignation and anger, and made
him exclaim “that he did not believe there was one honest printer
in Lancashire.” In drawing up a preface to a subsequent edition,
he justly reproved and satirised those insidious offenders. His last
literary production was entitled “Curious Remarks on the History
of Manchester.” This small pamphlet of sixty-five pages, contains
some sharp strictures on that learned and desultary book; and the
author concludes by saying that the style of that work “appears
to him to be affected, of a mongrel-py'd kind, produced by the
dregs of Ossian, and the lofty fustian of a proud Oxonian.”
Mr. Collier died in the possession of his mental powers, at the
advanced age of eighty, leaving three sons and two daughters.

EccLES PARISH, to the west of Manchester, comprehends

an area of about mine miles from east to west, and four from north
to south. The church is a large ancient structure; and in the
windows are the arms of the Booths. In the chancel is a curious
monument to Richard Brereton, of Tatton, and Dorothea his wife,
whose effigies are on the tomb. The vicarage is in the gift of the
crown. It formerly belonged to Whalley-Abbey; but at the dis-
solution was made parochial. Two new chapels of ease have been
built since 1775, at Pendleton and Swainton in this parish. The
gradual and considerable increase of the population of which
will best show its relative state at different periods. This will be
taken at six distinct and distant times. In 1776 there were 8,723
persons; in 1780–9,147 persons; in 1785–10,522 persons; in
1790–12,430 persons; in 1793–14,265 persons; and in 1800
there were in Barton 6, 197; in Clifton 812; in Pendlebury 437;
in Pendleton 3,611; and in Worsley 5,062, all places within this

parish, making together 16,119 inhabitants.
WoRSLEY-HALL, in this parish, is a large, venerable, old brick
mansion, now in the occupation of R. H. Bradshaw, Esq. in trust
for the Bridgewater estate. Sir Elias de Workedesley, was lord
I of

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

of this manor in the time of William the First, and this name was retained both by the place and family till the end of Edward the First's reign. The chief branch of the family is now settled at Horringham, in Yorkshire; another branch had its seat and principal estates at Appuldurcombe, in the Isle of Wight. The coal-mines and canals here have been already referred to. The warehouses connected with which, are on a very extensive scale; and among the manufactures of the place is that of blacklead-pencils, by Gilbert, Burgess, and Co.

ASHTON-UNDER-LINE

Is a large town and parish, situated at the south-eastern extremity of the county. The former consists of several narrow streets, built on a high bank, which rises from the river Tame. It appears, from an ancient manuscript, now preserved at Royton, and containing several particulars concerning this estate, that Ashton was formerly a borough. The chief landed property of this town and parish belongs to the Earl of Stamford, into whose family it was conveyed by the marriage of Sir William Booth, Kt. of DunhamMassey, with Margaret, daughter of Sir Thomas Asheton. The family of Asheton were settled here at an early period, and are said to have possessed peculiar privileges and powers in this manor, among which was that of life and death over their tenantry. In commemoration of this privilege, and its having been sometimes exercised, a field near the old hall is still called Gallows-Meadow. An old building here also retains the name of the Dungeons; and to perpetuate the remembrance of some black act or tyrannical deed of Sir Ralph Asheton, who, in 1483, under the authority of being Vice-Constable of England", exercised great severity in this part of the kingdom, an annual custom, called riding the black lad, is celebrated every Easter Monday. The ceremony consists in making an effigy in the human form, of straw, which is placed on a horse, and exhibited through the streets. It is afterwards hung up at the cross in the market-place, and there shot at - in * The commission is preserved in Rhymer's Foedera. Vol. IX. U

« 上一頁繼續 »