« 上一頁繼續 »
yet not so far as to group the most palpable incongruities. The rule is applicable here—
“Denique sit quod vis simplex duntaxat & unum."
ST. PAUL's CHURCH, which was erected at the public ex
pense, and consecrated in 1769, is a miniature imitation of the
great cathedral of London. On the west side a grand Ionic por
tico forms a suitable vestibule to the building, which is also of the
Ionic order throughout. The base is rustic, the walls plain, terminated by a balustrade decorated, but not croudedly so, with plain neat vases. The dome is crowned with a lantern, and its finial a ball bearing a cross. Though the exterior of this building loses all appearance of grandeur, or beauty, to the eye that has dwelt on the designs of St. Peter's at Rome, and St. Paul's at London, yet it assumes some importance and elegance when compared to the other modern churches of the town, or the generality of those sacred edifices that have been erected since the reign of Henry the Eighth. Its interior is more imposing than the exterior, from the disposition and character of the pillars that support the dome. Like most buildings with domes, or of circular arrangement, this is very unfavourable for the communication of sound: and the congregation is said to be very limited from this circumstance *.
St. ANN's Church was built by two proprietors, in 1770; and is remarkable for having its galleries supported by slender castiron pillars, which were the first employed for this purpose. The church is, very unusally, placed in a north and south direction.
St. John's Church was erected at the public expense, and was finished in 1784. The lower part of this, like that of St. Paul's, is appropriated to the public.
TRINITY CHURCH, built by private proprietors, and consecrated in 1792, is commodious, and peculiarly neat.
* See a small view of this building in the Plan of the Town, published in “The British Atlas.”
CHRIst's CHURCH is an handsome and spacious building, with two rows of galleries, and an Organ, very peculiarly constructed by Mr. Collins, of this town. This instrument is divided into two parts, at 14 feet asunder, and the organist is placed in the centre, with his face towards the congregation. The swell is behind him, on the floor, and the movements are beneath his feet. This church was built by an individual, at an expense of 15,000l.; and was consecrated to the protestant religion in 1800. ST. MARK's Church is a large new building, built by subscription, at an expense of 16,000l. It will hold almost 2,500 persons, and was finished in 1803. Here is a Welch Church, and a Scotch Church. But it would extend beyond the proper limits, to particularize all the religious, and other public buildings of this great town. Several of the Dissenter's Meeting-Houses are neat and comfortable structures; but what is called the Octagon claims the most notice, as it unites great convenience with some portion of dignity. Of charitable foundations, the BLUE CoAT Hospit AL claims the first notice. This made its appearance as a Charity-School, supported by annual subscription and donation, for the educating and maintaining 40 boys and 10 girls, A. D. 1709.-Not to blazon the amiable spirit of charity, but only to shew how one spark of generosity tends to enkindle the flaine of benevolence, let it be observed, that the number now provided for, by this benevolent establishment, is upwards of 280.-And though the institution still, in a considerable degree, depends upon the same precarious plan for its support, yet, while it is so ably conducted, there can be little doubt of its continuing to receive additional assistance. The building consists of a large body, having two wings; the whole built of brick, and ornamented with stone. The expense of the establishment, in 1803, was 24821.-and the benefactions received amounted to 29131. The public INFIRMARY is another charitable institution, conducted with that extended hand of liberality, which the nature of such charities, to render them beneficial, imperiously require.— All persons, without distinction, are admitted, who come properly recondi
recommended by a subscriber; and, in cases of sudden accident,
rate London actors join it. In the season of 1798, an incident, at once singular and solemn, occurred at this theatre:—As John Palmer was performing the part of the Stranger in Kotzebue's once popular play of that name, and pronouncing the words— “there is another and a better world "-he sunk down on the stage, and immediately expired. He was buried at Walton, and soon afterwards the proprietors generously gave a benefit play for Mr. Palmer's orphan family; to whom was remitted, exclusive of funeral expenses, &c. the sum of 4121. The ATHENAEUM is a building and establishment, calculated to embrace a News and Coffee-Room, and Public Library. It was commenced in 1798, and the coffee-room opened on the 1st of January, 1799. The building, which was erected by a subscription of 4,400l. arising from the shares of different members, has a stone front in Church-street; and, besides the rooms already specified, contains a handsome committee-room, and apartments to accommodate the librarian. The whole of the building, with its establishment and current support, is defrayed by about 450 subscribers, 300 of whom paid, on entrance, ten guineas for each share, afterwards the shares were raised to twenty guineas, and subsequently to thirty guineas each. Besides this, every subscriber pays two guineas annually. The UNION NEws Room, a similar establishment to the above, was instituted on the 1st. of Jan. 1801, the day of establishing the Union of England and Ireland. This building cost between four and five thousand pounds, and has a stone front in Duke-street. The LYcEUM, consisting, like the above, of a coffee-room, library, and other necessary apartments, is a large handsome pile of building, erected by Mr. Harrison, of Chester, at an expense of about 11,000l. This sum was raised by a subscription of 800 proprietors, who pay annually one guinea each towards its support, &c. The coffee-room is sixty-eight feet by forty-eight, with a coved ceiling, thirty-one feet from the floor; and, besides most of the London and provincipal newspapers, it is also supplied with many Literary Reviews and Magazines. The library-room is circular, forty-five feet in diameter, and is fitted up with recesses, and adorned with several busts, &c. The CoMMERCIAL NEws Room, in Statham's buildings, Lord-street; and the MINER v A News Roo M, in Upper Dawson-street, are institutions, in some respects, similar to the preceding, though upon smaller scales. The Music HALL, in Bold-street, is a large handsome pile of building, and provided with every accommodation for concerts, &c. It will hold nearly 1300 persons. The Assem BLY Room is a part of the Liverpool Arms hotel, in Castle-street. Besides these places, Liverpool contains a circular room built for a Panorama; a Museum, belonging to Mr. Bullock; a Free-Mason's-Hall, and a BotANIC GARDEN. The latter, at the S. E. extremity of the town, consists of about five acres of ground, enclosed by a stone wall. It is supported by 375 proprietors, who, besides an original advance, pay an annual subscription of two guineas. This novel establishment is highly creditable to the taste and character of its projectors and supporters. Presents of rare and choice plants have been sent to it from the East and West Indies, and from the Cape-of-Good-Hope. The boundaries of the Borough of Liverpool are defined by marks, called Mere-Stones, within which its liberties are included. This extent forms an area, containing 2,102 acres; of which about 900 belong to the corporation, and the rest forms private property. But what may be considered the complete population of Liverpool, is not to be confined to these limits, as numerous streets, lanes, alleys, and buildings, have progressively multiplied around the corporate boundaries. * Like most trading places, the streets in the oldest part of the town are too narrow, either to be handsome or healthy; and, with respect to many buildings more recently erected, greater regard has been generally paid to convenience than beauty. There are, however, several handsome streets; and an increasing prosperity seems to have been accompanied by an increasing taste for elegant as well as useful building. In some of the principal streets are houses, which do credit to the style of the artists, and the spirit