« 上一頁繼續 »
1 1/2 Morgenthal-(Inn : Löwe, good.)
2 1/2 Herzogenbuchsee-(Inn : Sonne ;) a village of 4500 inhabitants.
1 1/2 Hochstetten. 1 1/2 Alchenflüb. 1 1/4 Hindelbank. muse Village, sh. Ministerhoudied in child.himb. Teis
In the village church is the celebrated Monument of madame Langhans, wife of the Minister, who died in child-birth. It is by a sculptor, named Nahl, and represents her with ber child in her arms, bursting through the tomb at the sound of the last trumpet. Its merit, as a work of art, has been much exaggerated. Its chief excellence seems to be the natural manner in which the crack in the stone is represented. The epitaph, was written by Haller. This tomb is formed of sandstone, and is let into the pavement of the church. The chief figure is injured by the loss of the nose, which Glütz Blotzheim asserts (it is to be hoped unfoundedly) was the wanton act of an Englishman.
The Castle on the neighbouring height, belongs to the Erlach family. 2 3/4 BERNE, (in Route 24.)
ROUTE 14. ZURICE TO COIRE, BY THE LAKES OF ZURICE AND WAL
LENSTADT. 25 Stunden=82 Eng. miles.
A diligence goes daily; but it is a tedious conveyance. Down to 1837 it took 23 hours to perform the journey.
A steam-boat traverses the lake of Zurich, to and fro, twice a day, in 2 1/2 or 3 hours, starting from Rapperschwyl, at 5 A.M., and 2 P.M.; and from Zurich at 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. It is not a quick conveyance, as it zigzags from one side of the lake to the other, to take in and let out passengers at the different towns. Nor is it cheap, the price of a place from Rapperschwyl to Zurich being 32 batz (4 fr. 60 c.); and the charge for a 4-wheeled carriage, with 4 persons, amounts to 33 fr. Those who have a carriage of their own may proceed as speedily, and at a less cost by land. There is a threat of starting an opposition steamer, in which case all this may be altered.
Diligences are in readiness on the arrival of the steamer at Rapperschwyl and Wallenstadt, to carry on the passengers.
Good carriage-roads run along both sides of the lake, and are traversed daily by diligences. The road to Wallenstadt and Coire runs along the rt. or N. bank.
The Lake of Zurich has no pretensions to grandeur of scenery; that must be sought for on the silent and sayage shores
of the lakes of Lucerne, Geneva, and Wallenstadt; but it has a charm peculiarly its own-that of life and rich cultivation. Its borders are as a bee-hive, teeming with population, and are embellished and enlivened at every step by the work of man. Its character is siniling and cheerful. The hills around it are less than 3000 feet high above the sea, and descend in gentle slopes down to the water's edge: wooded on their tops, clad with vineyards, orchards, and gardens on their slopes, and carpeted with verdant pastures, or luxuriantly waving crops of grain at their feet. But the principal feature in this landscape is the number of human habitations : the bills from one extremity to the other are dotted with white houses, villas of citizens, cottages, and farms, while along the margin of the lake, and on the high road, they gather into frequent clusters around a church, forming villages and towns almost without number. Every little stream descending from the hills is compelled to do duty by turning some mill; at the mouths of the valleys enormous factories are erected, and thus the shores of the lake, on either side, have the appearance of one vast uninterrupted village.
The effect of this lively foreground is heightened by the appearance of the snowy peaks of the Sentis, Dödi, and Glärnisch, which are seen at different points peering above the nearer hills. The charms of the Lake of Zurich inspired the Idylls of Gessner : they are celebrated in an ode of Klopstock, and in the prose of Zimmerman. The lake is a long and narrow strip of water, about 26 miles in length from Zurich to Schmerikon, and not more then three broad at the widest part, between Stäfa and Wädensweil. The principal river falling into it is the Linth, which issues out at Zurich, under the name of Limmat.
Scarcely any of the villages or towns on the lake are at all remarkable except as the seats of flourishing industry. A few only of the principal places are enumerated below, with their distance by land from Zurich; the banks are distinguished as rt. and l., in reference to the course of the Limmat.
(1.) The high ridge rising on the W. of Zurich, and bordering the lake for more than 12 miles, is the Albis.
(rt.) 1 3/4 Küssnacht-(Inn : Sonne;)—a village of 2114 inhabitants; not to be confounded with its namesake on the Lake of Lucerne, famous in the history of Tell.
(1.) Rüschlikon; behind this are the baths of Nydelbad, with a bath-house.
21/4 Thalwyl-(Inn : Adler.)
Lavater is said to have written a portion of his work on physiognomy at the parsonage of the village of Ober-Rieden, about 31/2 miles farther on.
(1.) 1 Horgen-(Inns : Schwan; Löwe.)-Here passen
gers, bound for the Righi, by way of Zug, disembark and cross the hills. (Route 15.)
(rt.) 1 2/3 Meilen-(Inns : Löwe; Sonne;)--a very considerable village of 3036 inbabitants, with a gothic church, built 1490-9. Its poorer inhabitants are chiefly silk-weavers.
(1.) 1 Wädenschwyl;-a pretty village of 4357 inhabi-. tants, containing silk factories. Above it stands the castle, formerly residence of the bailift (ober-amtman), now private property.
(1.) 3/4 Richtensweil,-here is one of the largest cotton fact ries on the borders of the lake. The village is built on, the boundary line of Cantons Zurich and Schwylz; behind il the road to Einsiedeln ascends the hills. The pilgrims bound to that celebrated shrine usually disembark here. (See Route 74.) Zimmerman resided here as physician, and in his work on "Solitude” praises the beauty of this spot.
(1.) 1 2/3 Stäfa-(inns ; Krone ; Stern;)--an industrious village of 3026 inhabitants, by whom much silk and cotton is woven. The extremity of the lake beyond this lies out of the limits of the Canton Zurich. It has been calculated that the number of inhabitants on each of its banks, hence to the town of Zurich, a distance of 16 miles, is not less than 12,000. - On approaching Rapperschwyl and its long bridge, the pretty little isle of Aufnau becomes a conspicuous feature and ornament to the landscape. It has some cclebrity as the retreat and burial place of Ulric Von Hutten, a Frauconian knight, the friend of Luther and Franz of Sickingen, distinguished equally for his talents and chivalrous bravery, but withal a bit of a roue. His satirical writings contributed not a little to the spread of the Reformation, but raised up against him such a host of enemies, that he was forced to fly froin the court of Charles V., and take refuge from their persecution, first, with Franz of Sickingen, and, after his death, in this little island. Zwingli bad procured for him an asylum here, in the house of the curate, where he died a fortnight after his arrival (1523), at the age of 36. He was buried by a faithful friend, but all record of the spot in which he lies has long since disappeared.
The Bridge of Rapperschwyl is probably the longest in the world; it extends from the town to a tongue of land on ihe opposite side, completely across the lake, a distance of 4800 feet, or more than 3/4 of a mile. It is only 12 feet broad, is formed of loose planks laid (not nailed) upon piers, and is unprovided with railing at the sides, so that only one carriage can safely pass at a time. The toll is heavy-24 bat % for a char-à-banc. It was originally constructed by Leopold of Austria, 1358 : the existing bridge dates from 1819.
A small stone pier has recently been thrown out into ihe lake, a little below the bridge, outside the gate of the town, receive passengers to from the steam-boat.
(rt.) 11/2. Rapperschwyl-(Inns: Pfan(Paon d'Or), outside the town, best, but dear; Freienhof,)— This is a very picturesque old town, in Canton St. Gall, still partly surrounded by walls, and surmounted by an old Castle and a Church, near which, from the terrace called Lindenhof, a fine view is obtained
Rapperschwyl is about 18 miles from Zurich, and the same distance from Wesen. The diligence takes about 3 1/2 hours either way. A char costs 12 f.; and a calèche, with two horses, 20 to 24 f. Roads run from hence to St. Gall, and across the bridge to Einsiedeln.-(Route 74, and Glarus by Lachen, R. 72.)
At Schmerikon, the road quits the lake of Zurich; the castle of Grynau, on the rt., stands on the Linth, a little above its entrance into the lake. Pedestrians will find the towingpath along the Linth canal shorter than the carriage-road from Schmerikon to Wesen.
2 3/4 Uznach,-a small town of 900 inhabitants, on an eminence, the summit of wbich is occupied by a small square tower of the ancient castle and by that of the church. The road to St. Gall (Route 69) turns off here. There are mines of brown coal at Oberkirch about a mile from Uznach, in a hill 1500 feet high. · Soon after leaving Uznach the valley of Glarus opens out into view with the snowy mountains near its head; a very beautiful prospect. Out of this valley issues the river Linth, an impetuous torrent, fed by glaciers, and carrying down with it vast quantities of debris, which had accumulated lo such an extent 20 years ago, that its channel was obstructed, and its bed raised many feet above the level of the lower part of the valley. From this cause arose repeated and most dangerous inundations, which covered the fertile district on its banks with stone and rubbish, and converted the meadows into a stagnant marsh. Nearly the entire valley between the lakes of Zurich and Wallenstadt was reduced to a desert, and its inhabitants, thinned in numbers by annual revers, arising from the pestilential exhalations, abandoned the spot. The valley of the Linth was relieved from this dire calamity by Mr. Conrad Escher, who suggested to The Diet, in 1807, the ingenious plan of digging a new bed for the waters of the Linth, and turning it into the Lake or Wallenstadt, in whose depths il might deposit the sand and gravel which it brought down, without doing any damage. He at the same time proposed to improve the issues of the lake of Wallenstadt by digging a navigable canal from it to the lake of Zurich, so as to carry
ost the waters of the Linth and the other streams falling into il, so that it might drain the intervening valley, instead of inundating it. This important and useful public work was completed by Escher in 1822, and has been attended with perfect success. In consequence of it the valley is no longer steril and unwholesome, and the high road to Wesen, which was often cut off and broken up by inroads of the river, is now carried in a straight line along its rt. bank. Immediately opposite the opening of the valley of the Linth, at whose extremity the mountains of Glarus now appear in all their grandeur, a simple monumental tablet of black marble has been let into the face of the rock by the roadside, to the memory of the public-spirited citizen who conferred this great benefit on the surrounding country. He earned from it, in addition to his name, the title Von der Linth, the only title which a republic could properly conser, and which his descendants may be more proud of than that of count or baron. The Linth is here crossed by a bridge, called Ziegelbrücke, over which runs the road to Glarus. (Route 72.) Near it are a cotton manufactory and an establishment for the education or the poor of the canton Glarus. It is called the Linth Colony, because it owes its origin to a colony of 40 poor persons, asterwards increased to 180, who were brought hither by charitable individuals from the over-peopled villages of the canton, and settled on this spot, which was the bed of the Linth previous to Escher's improvements, in order to reclaim it by removing the stones and rubbish, and rendering it fit for cultivation. They were lodged, red, and allowed a small sum for wages, the expense being defrayed by subscription. After having, in combination with the correction of the Linth, described above, restored the valley to a state fit for agriculture, and having, above all, been saved themselves from starvation, in a season of scarcity, they were dismissed to seck their fortunes with some few sayings io begin the world; and, what was of more importance, with industrious habits, which they had learned while settled here. In the school which now replaces the colony children from 6 to 12 are taught, and teachers are also instructed.
3 1/4 Wesen.-(Inn: L'Epée, well situated, but not very good fare; had once the reputation of being dear. The following are the charges at present. — for the best bed-roons, with two beds, 3 fr.; dinner 3 fr.; breakfast 2 fr.)
Wesen is a village of about 500 inhabitants, at the W. ertremity of the lake of Wallensdtadt, and in the midst of scenery of great magnificence.
Glarus is six miles from Wesen (Route 72).