« 上一頁繼續 »
been preacher amongst the Wesleyan Methodists, removed from Stand to this place, about the year 1811. The endowments on this chapel are about 100/. a year. One of the tenants refuses to pay his rent, assigning as his reason, that the estate was not left for the benefit of Unitarians, but Trinitarian Dissenters.
Piatt, near Manchester. The present chapel is built on the site of an old one, which was erected about the year 1700 for Mr Finch, an eminent Trinitarian divine, who had been ejected from two places. Mr John Whitaker succeeded Mr Finch in the ministry at this chapel. The ministers who have preached here since Mr Whitaker's death, are Messrs Haughton, Meanley, Checkley, and Whitelegg the present minister ; most or all of whom have professed Unitarianism.
Prescott. This chapel is not of so early a date as some in this county, but is of Trinitarian origin. The present minister is Mr W. T. Proctor.
Preston. The present chapel was built about the year 1718, but it is probable there was a place for preaching in this town prior to the chapel now standing. Mr John Turner was minister at Walton and Preston, in 1714. He was succeeded by Mr Polkington, who continued to preach at both chapels. The endowment is about 60/. per annum, and arises partly from the rents of Walton Chapel, which is now converted into dwelling houses. W. M. Walker was for a short time minister at the chapel in Preston, but on account of his preaching Trinitarian doctrines, was required to resign his office. This he did, and his friends built for him the independent Chapel inGrimshaw Street. The Unitarian minister at Preston is partly supported by the bounty of Lady Hewley's trustees, partly by the rents of Walton Chapel, let as cottages, and partly by a small congregation.
Rawtonstall, in Rossindale. The trust deed of this chapel bears date May 17, 1760, and is very explicit in its requisition of Trinitarian belief from the minister. Mr John Ingham now occupies the place, and has been here above forty years. When he came hither, he professed to be of orthodox sentiments, so called, but about seven years since he acknowledged himself to be a Unitarian. Risley, near Warrington. Orig. Trin.
Rivington. Mr. Samuel Newton was the person ejected from the episcopal chapel here; but consenting to read some of the prayers, was permitted to preach after Bartholomew day. Mr Walker, ejected from Newton Heath Chapel, succeeded him in ministering the gospel to this people. He is supposed to have been the first minister of the dissenting chapel at Rivington. When the conventicle act was in force, the good people at Rivington frequently assembled to worship God according to the dictates of their consciences in the open air, at a place called Winter Hill. Seats were cut out of the side of the hill, still visible, so as to form an amphitheatre, in the centre of which was a stone pulpit. Between eighty and ninety years ago, when Arian sentiments were introduced into this place, two of the congregation were so distressed, that they agreed to call a child of theirs, born at this time, Ichnbod, because they considered the glory was departed. Some persons, now living, knew others, who in their youth had been publicly taught the Assembly's Catechism in the chapel.
Rochdale. Blackwater Street Chapel. Mr Robert Bath, vicar of this parish, united with the second classes of ministers who met at Bury, for the purpose of ordaining preachers, and managing the ecclesiastical affairs of this district. When ejected from the church, he continued to preach in a private house to crowded audiences of his old hearers till 1674. After his death, the people were occasionally visited by Mr Pendlebury, and different nonconformist ministers. Mr Joseph Dawson was minister here in 1706, and died in 1739. The present chapel was built during his ministry, so that there must have been a place of worship prior to this building. The founders of this edifice were many of them persons in humble life, and contributed manually as well as with their money,towards the present building. Mr Richard Scholfield was minister here a short time. He died in 1740. Mr Owen was his successor, who was a man possessing the talent of wit and sarcasm to a very great degree, by which he defended himself and his fellow dissenters from the attacks of the high church party of those days. His religious sentiments corresponded with the doctrines of Arians.
Hopkins, M. D. was probably the immediate successor
of Mr Owen. Mr Hassall was minister at this place a few years, and was followed in 1779, by Mr Thomas Threlkeld, who was distinguished for the strength of his memory, and his acquaintance with the learned languages. He died here in 1806. Mr Marshall, and Mr Richard Ashley, now at Halifax, were here a few years. The present minister, Mr G. W. Elliott, came to Rochdale in 1815.
Rochdale. Unitarian Methodist Chapel. This place was built in 1813, and is supplied chiefly by local preachers.
Salford. A Unitarian place of worship was opened here Dec. 25, 1824. The congregation has been raised chiefly by the services of local preachers. Mr Bcrd, from Manchester College, York, has become the minister at this chapel.
Stand, near Manchester. Orig. Trin. The founders of the dissenting cause at this place were mostly, it is supposed, the old hearers of Mr Pyke, who was ejected in 1662 from Radcliffe church in this neighbourhood. Many of the nonconformist ministers, who resorted to Manchester as a place of refuge, it not being a corporation town, supplied the neighbouring villages as they had opportunity, and Stand enjoyed that privilege among the rest. Tradition affirms that the first preaching place here was a barn in Higher Lane. The congregation thus collected, chose Mr Robert Eaton for their first minister, and built a more convenient place of worship in 1695. The chapel was rebuilt on the site of the old one in 1818. A line of Mr Eaton's successors passed through the usual variation of opinions, through which free inquiry and the opening views of the age conducted them, until Mr Aubrey, by preaching Socinian doctrines, caused some of the people to withdraw and to build the Independent Chapel in Stand Lane in 1792. He removed to Gloucester in 1795. He was succeeded by Mr Thomas Smith, who removed to Park Lane in 1811. The present minister is Mr Arthur Dean from Manchester College, York. The chapel is endowed, but part of the endowments are of Unitarian origin. There is also an endowed school in the chapel yard, of which Mr Dean is the master.
Todmorden. A chapel was opened here in Whitsunday Week, 1824, iu connexion with the Unitarian Methodists, and is principally supplied by the same lay preachers as Rochdale.
Toxteth Park, near Liverpool. This place may boast of as great antiquity of dissent from episcopacy as any in Lancashire. Some of the early provincial meetings of the Presbyterians are said to have been held here. The ministers preceding Mr Anderson, who now occupies the pulpit of the dissenting chapel here, and who has been nearly fifty years at this place, have all been reported Trinitarians. Mr Anderson came with a similar reputation, but in the course of his long life, has felt compelled to alter his sentiments. The congregation at present is small.
Tunley. See Wigan.
Walmsley, near Bolton. Mr Michael Briscoe of Trinity Collego, Dublin, was ejected from the chapel here under the establishment. The people, who founded the dissenting chapel at this place, were congregational in their views of church government. Mr Briscoe removed to Toxteth Park and died in 1685, aged 96. He was succeeded at Walmsley by Mr Thomas Key. When a Unitarian minister was introduced into the dissenting chapel at Walmsley, and had made a confession of his faith, it is said, that the neighbouring ministers who had assembled to assist at his ordination, withdrew and refused to take any part in the service.—The endowment belonging to this chapel is about £30 per ann. besides a house for the minister.
vol. III.—No. vI. 65
Walton, near Preston. Orig. Trin. It is now converted into cottages, and the rents are paid to the minister at Preston. See Preston.
Warrington. Mr Robert Yates, an able orthodox divine, was ejected from the parish church of this town. In 1672, he took out a license and preached publicly to many of his former hearers. He died in 1678, and was succeeded by his son Mr Samuel Yates. Matthew Henry, when minister at Chester, frequently visited and preached at Warrington. Other Trinitarian ministers succeeded. About sixty years ago, a Mr Seddon was minister here, who was reputed to have been an Arian. He was followed by Dr Enfield, whose Socinian doctrines caused some of his hearers to leave him and build the Independent place of worship called Stepney Chapel. After Dr Enfield, Mr Benley of Cockey M,or, preached here about two years, and was succeeded by Mr Broadbent, who was minister of this place upwards of twenty years. Since his death, Mr Mutton was here a short time. Mr Dimmock is the present minister. The latter ministers have all preached Unitarian doctrines. The old place of worship was considerably smaller than the present chapel.
Wigan. This place and Tunley have been supplied alternately for near thirty years past by Mr Dinwiddie, a native of Scotland. Both places were built by Trinitarians.
The Unitarian Methodists had their origin amongst the followers of Mr Cooke, formerly a minister amongst the Wesleyan Methodists, but who was expelled from that connexion in the year 1806. His friends built for him an excellent chapel at Rochdale, which has since been sold to the Independents. After Mr Cooke's death, many of his hearers having embraced Unitarian Sentiments, formed themselves into a distinct society, retaining a part of the plans common to the Wesleyans, but differing very far from them in doctrines. A yearly meeting of the brethren is held at some appointed place, in imitation of the Methodist conference, at which a plan is drawn up appointing the preachers to their different stations for the ensuing year. They have several licensed rooms in Lancashire, mostly in the neighbourhood of Rochdale and Manchester, besides the chapels noticed in the above list, in which they have Sunday Schools and preaching. These lay preachers, besides some assistance received from Lady Hewley's trustees, are encouraged by the voluntary subscriptions of some of their wealthy friends in the county.
Hinckley. Orig. Trin. The congregation small.
Loughborough and Mount Sonell. Both originally Trinitarian, but now united under one minister.
Boston. Built by the Unitarians.
Kerkstead. Orig. Trin. At present there is neither minister nor congregation. The property has been for some years under litigation. The endowment is large.
Lincoln. Orig. Trin.
Brentford. Orig. Trin.
H:ickney. Built by the Unitarians. Rev. Robert Aspland is the present minister.
Hampstead. Orig. Trin. Endowed.
Essex Street, Strand. Built for the late Rev. T. Lindsey, now occupied by Rev T. Belsham.
Jcwin Street. This place was built about twenty years ago. The congregation removed from an old meetinghouse in the Old Jewry; it was originally Trinitarian.
Monkwell Street. Orig. Trin. The first minister was the Rev. T Doolittle, ejected in 1662.
Somers Town. Built by the Unitarians.
South Place, Finsbury Square. Built by Unitarians. Minister, Rev. W. J. Fox.
Stamford Street, Blackfriars Road. Recently built by two congregations who before met in chapels erected for the orthodox. The proceeds of those chapels were applied towards the expense of the new building.
Worship Street. Built about 1780 by four General Baptist congregations.
York Street. Lately taken by Unitarians.
Diss. Built by the Unitarians. Filby and Hapton. Both originally Trinitarian. Lynn. Built by the Unitarians.
Norwich. Orig. Trin. Rebuilt in 1756, for Dr Talyor and his congregation.
Yarmouth. Orig. Trin. (To be concluded in our next.)
Unitarianism in New-York.—[An intelligent correspondent at New-York has, at our request, furnished the following interesting particulars of the history of Unitarianism in that city.]