« 上一頁繼續 »
uccount 'drawn up by enemies to Unitarianism, who are meditating a legal attack upon the Trusts, &c. A similar one, if of Unitarian origin, would undoubtedly present us with many more interesting particulars, especially with respect to the history of modern Unitarianism.' This is compiled from a recent English publication.]
ENGLAND. Cambridgeshire. Wisbeach. Originally Trinitarian.
Allostock. Originally Trinitarian.
Altrincham. Built by the Unitarians in 1814. The minister at Hale Barns Chapel officiates also at this place.
Chester. Orig. Trin. Built for the celebrated Matthew Henry and his congregation, about the year 1700. As an instance of the mutability of theological opinion and reputation, it may be remarked that in this chapel a copy of Mr Henry's Exposition of the Bible, has been placed on the desks for general perusal, probably ever since its publication; but that some years ago, a gentleman who visited the chapel, observed that one of the volumes of the New Testament was missing, and that several leaves were torn out of another, while the Improved Version was in the pulpit, and in several of the pews!
Congleton ;—Cross-Street, near Altrincham ;—Dean-Row, near Wilmslow,—all originally Trinitarian.
Duckinfield. Orig. Trin. Built A. D. 1707, for the congregation of the eminent Samuel Angier, the friend of Dr Owen.
Hale Barns;—Hyde ;—Knutsford;—Macclesfield ;—Middlewich ;—Nantwich ;—Stockport,—all originally Trinitarian.
Willington. Built by the Unitarians in 1823.
Ashford. Originally Trinitarian. The old chapel at Ashford was built for that celebrated Nonconformist divine, Mr William Bagshaw, usually called ' the Apostle of the Peak.' The eminent Mr John Ashe, whose life was published by Dr Clegg, was successor to Mr Bagshaw, at this place. The chapel, however, has been almost rebuilt, and also endowed, by two gentlemen of anti-trinitarian sentiments.
Belper. The congregation here was originally Trinitarian, but the present chapel was built entirely by a gentleman of Unitarian sentiments. The congregation probably owes its rise to the preaching of Mr Samuel Charles, M. A. who was ejected from the neighbouring parish of Mickleover, and, according to Calamy, preached at Belper.
Bradwell. Orig. Trin. The congregation at Bradwell was also gathered by the labors of Mr W. Bagshaw, for whom the first meeting-house was built. Mr Kelsall, ;ui Independent Minister, who labored here for fifty years, and who had acquired some property by a share in a mine, built the present commodious chapel.
Buxton. Orig. Trin. There is a house belonging to this chapel, now let as an inn, for 40/. per annum, which was built by the Inst stated minister, whose sentiments are not distinctly known, but who is thought to have been an Arian. It is supposed to have been built on the site of an old house belonging to the chapel. It is understood that there are other funds belonging to this place. But as there are no persons of Unitarian sentiments in Buxton, or the neighbourhood, the chapel is shut up, except occasionally in the bathing season.
Chesterfield. Orig. Trin. The interest here was raised by the labors of Mr John Billingsley, an eminent ejected minister. The chapel was built in 1694, at the expense of Cornelius Clarke, Esq. of Norton. Unitarian tenets were introduced here subsequently to 1742.
Derby. Orig. Trin. Built in 1679. It has a small endowment, but the testator is thought to have been an Arian. .
Dufheld. Built chiefly at the expense of a gentleman of Arian or Unitarian sentiments.
Findern. Orig. Trin. Liberally endowed; but it is understood that the congregation had become Arian before the endowment was founded.
Hucklow. Orig. Trin. The congregation at this place, is one of those which were founded by Mr John Ashe. The excellent Mr Robert Kelsall divided his labors, for many years, between this place and Bradwell. The chapel has been taken down and rebuilt since the congregation became Unitarian.
Ilkiston. The particulars of the origin of this chapel are unknown to our authority; but as it was erected very early in the last century, there is scarcely a doubt that it was originally Trinitarian. It is liberally endowed. Mr Grundy, who has lately removed from Manchester to Liverpool, was minister at this chapel from 1808 to 1811.
Lea Wood. Built by a gentleman of Unitarian sentiments.
Middleton Stoney. Orig. Trin. This place has several small endowments.
Norton. Orig. Trin. Mr H. H. Piper, who formerly professed Trinitarian sentiments, preaches here. He was for some time a student in Hoxton academy, and afterwards at Homerton academy, both Calvinistic establishments, and now preaches at Norton, under the patronage of Lady Hewley's trustees, who at present are Unitarians, although that lady was herself a Calvinist of the early part of the last century. Her large property was left for ' pious uses,' and a sharp controversy has been for some time agitated between the English Unitarians and their opponents, whether the present Trustees, in appropriating these funds principally to the support of Unitarianism, are faithful to their stewardship. Is not the probability at least very great, that if Lady Hewley could have lived one hundred years longer, she would have become of the same persuasion of her present highly respectable Trustees, and of so many thousands of their brethren and sisters, the descendants of the ancient Presbyterians and Independents? Moreover, who will contend that modern Calvinism is the same with that of one hundred years ago? The self-styled orthodox, who are so eagerly contending for the appropriation of Lady ilewley's and other funds, seem to forget, that the very argument which would take this property out of the hands oi Unitarians, would, if strictly followed up, prevent it from coming into their own. The point in question is threatened to be litigated. Ripley. A modern chapel built by the Unitarians.
Cullompton. Orig. Trin. The first minister was the Rev. W. Crompton, M A , who was ejected in 1662. He was succeeded in 1698 by the Rev. R. Evans, who continued here upwards of forty years until his death. He was the grandfather of the venerable R. Evans of Appledore, who died in 1824.
Colyton. Orig. Trin. The first minister was the Rev. John Keridge, M. A. v<ho was ejected from Lyne, Dorset. He died in 1705. About a century ago, the congregation divided, and for a time worshipped in two places. For many years, however, there has been but oue society, and that is much reduced.
Crediton. Orig. Trin. The first ministers were the Rev. Jt bn Pope and Robert Carel, who were ejected in 1662. About the beginning of the last century, Josiah Eveleigh became the minister. He published a tract in defence of the Divinity of Christ, entitled 'The Church's Rock.' At that time the present meeting-house, which is a very large one, was built. He was succeeded by Micaiah Towgood, who continued there for twelve years, during which time he was orthodox, technice, and then removed to Exeter. His successor, Mr Berry, embraced Arianism. The congregation at present is small, though the endowments are large.
Exeter. Orig. Trin. There were originally three meetinghouses here, but the congregations were united, and the ministers preached interchangeably at the different places. One of the ministers, the Rev. John Lavington, was a zealous champion for Trinitarianism, at the time of the celebrated controversy which originated in the adoption of Arianism by Messrs Pierce and Hallett. The endowments are large.
vol. III.—No. v. 55
Honiton. Orig. Trin. Several of the ejected ministers appear to have preached here subsequently to 1662. The Rev. John Ball, who settled here about the close of the seventeenth century, published some pamphlets in opposition to the new style of preaching, Arianism and rational religion, which was getting into vogue among the Dissenters in the West about 1730. He died in 1745, in the 91st year of his age, having been minister at Honiton above fifty years.
Lympstone. Orig. Trin. The first minister Wms the Rev. Samuel Tapper, who was ejected in 1662, and died in 1692. His successor was Mr Angel who died in 1721, and was succeeded by Micaiah Towgood, who removed hence to Crediton in 1736.
Plymouth. Orig. Trin. The Rev. Nathaniel Jacob, who was ejected in 1662, and died in 1690, was the first minister. He was succeeded by Nathaniel Harding, who remained here till his death in 1744.
Sidmouth. Orig. Trin. There were two ministers at this place in 1715, the Rev. Messrs Stevenson and Palk, who were both orthodox. The former removed soon after to Bath, and the latter after many years to South Molton.
Tavistock. Orig. Trin. The Rev. Henry Flamank, an ejected minister who died in 1692, was succeeded by Jacob Saunder- cook, also Trinitarian, who died 1729. The close of the
first third of the eighteenth century, seems to have been an epoch, marked by a very extensive change of sentiments from Trinitarian to Arian tenets among those clergymen in England, who were not bound by subscriptions of faith. From the commencement of the last third of the same century, we may trace, under the auspices of Priestley, a similar change from Arian to Socinian views, among the generation of ministers who succeeded the one abovementioned.
Totness. Orig. Trin. The first ministers were the Rev. Francis Whiddon and John Galpine, both ejected in 1662.
Bridport. Orig. Trin. Existed at an early period of tolerated dissent, and continued for a long time, decidedly Calvinistic. The old meeting-house was taken down, and rebuilt about thirty years ago.
Dorchester. Orig. Trin. This establishment date* from the ejectment under Charles II. and the place was Calvinistic until little more than fifty years ago. On the disappearance of that doctrine, many of the hearers went off to Lady Huntingdon's chapel, and the congregation is now small.
Poole. Orig. Trin. Built in 1705, and enlarged in 1720. Sixtyeight years ago, a separation took place, and the minister withdrew with sixty or eighty of his people. His successor was an Arian, though all the people were avowedly orthodox. The congregation is very small.
Stockton. Orig. Trin. The excellent John Rogers, M. A. (See Non-Conformist's Memorial, vol. i. p. 379,) licensed a place at Stocr.ton, in 1672. The first resident minister was Thomas Thompson, a student of Mr Frankland's, who was ordained July 11, 1688. A chapel was erected and opened here July 21, 1699. Mr Thompson died Nov. 24, 1729, having been minister here nearly fortyone years. He was succeeded by his son Mr John Thompson, who died in 1753. Mr Andrew Blackie, his successor, is believed to have been an Arian. In 1754, the chapel was rebuilt. There are endowments upon it. One of the ministers of this place, who for several years had been a preacher of Unitarianism, having avowed himself a Trinitarian, was discharged and ejected by a legal process about six years ago.
Sunderland. Recently built by Unitarians.
Colchester. Originally Trinitarian.
Saffron Walden. Orig. Trin. Lately rebuilt. Endowment about 200/. per ann. The congregation quite small.
Stratford. Recently built by Unitarians.
Walthamston. Orig. Trin. Built by the late Mr Coward, the friend of Watts and Doddridge, about 1733. The first minister, the Rev. Hugh Farmer, was the learned writer on Miracles, Demoniacs, &c.
Bristol. Built by the Unitarians.
Cirencester ;—Frenchay ;—both originally Trinitarian.
Gloucester. The meeting-house in Barton Street, Gloucester, was built in 1699 for the Rev. James Forbes, of whom an account may be seen in Palmer's Nonconformist Memorial, under the article, ' Gloucester Cathedral.' He was succeeded by Mr Derham, a Trinitarian. Next came Dr Hodge, reputed an Arian, who was succeeded by Mr Dickenson, from Yorkshire, a Baxterian. Messrs Tremlet, Aubrey, and Brown, all of whom were considered Socinians, followed Mr Dickenson in succession. The congregation is at present very small, and the chapel closed, though the endowments are considerable, having been enriched several hundred pounds by Unitarian worshippers.
Marshfield. Orig. Trin. After the persecution which disgraced the age of Charles II. and the misguided zeal which marked the course of the Bartholomew Act, there was a worthV