網頁圖片
PDF
ePub 版

narrow

fanciful castle, built by Baron Wrangel, cow-dung ; yet, with so few attractions, after the 30 Years' War,

the island is said to be dear to its child. The way from Stubbenkammer to ren, who call it “dat söte länne,” the Arkona lies along another

sweet little land. tongue of land, called Die Schabe, Bergen (Inn, Golden Anker) is the which unites the promontory Jasmund chief town in Rügen, and has 2600 into that of Wittow. At the village of hab. To the N. of it rises the hill of Altenkirchen (Haas's Inn), the poet Rugard, the highest in Rügen, surKosegarten, who was its pastor, is bu- mounted by the ruins of the ancient ried. For 8 successive Sundays, during fortress destroyed 1316. From this the season of the herring fishery, the spot the whole island with its deeply inminister preaches upon the shore to the dented shores, may be surveyed, as a fishermen assembled around him in their map laid open at the spectator's feet. boats, from the neighbouring islands. The distance hence to Stralsund is A figure, said to be of the idol Swan- about 16 miles, including the ferry. tewit, is built into the wall of the From Bergen to Putbus is 6 miles. Church.

Plan for an excursion of 1 day round 4 Arkona, the most northern pro- Rügen, starting from - Putbus : to the montory of the island, partly a chalk Jagdschloss, Schmaeler See, Prora and cliff, 173 feet above the sea, is sur- the Schanzenberg, by Lanken and the mounted by a lighthouse, which fur- new wood-road to Stubbenkammer ; nishes accommodation to travellers. return by Sagard, the Jasmund ferry, The view from it extends over the coast and Bergen, to Putbus. Distance of the promontory Jasmund, to the about 45 miles. island Hiddensöe, and to the more distant Danish island Moen.

ROUTE 77.
Upon Arkona stands the ancient
Fortress of the Wends, who at one

BERLIN TO DANZIG. period inhabited this island, called Burgring. It is a circular entrench- 611 Pruss. miles =284 Eng. miles. ment, from 30 to 40 yards high, with Courier 4 times a week in 37 hours, – an opening to the N. W. Within it Personen-post daily in 52 hours. The stood the temple of the god Swantevit, quickest way at present, owing to the destroyed by the Danes under King Railroad, is by Stettin ; Schnellpost Waldemar, who took it by storm 1168, twice a week. (Route 75.) The councarried off its treasures to Denmark, try is dull and uninteresting all the way and introduced Christianity into the to Danzig ; the road is macadamised, island. Saxo Grammaticus, the histo- and good all the way; the inns are for rian, was present at the capture. the most part bad, so that those who

Travellers must now either return by can bear the fatigue had better sleep in Altenkirchen and Wiek to the Wittow their carriage at night, instead of stopFerry, and after crossing it, proceed ping by the way : the journey to direct to

Danzig may thus be performed in 48 51 Bergen, or they may prolong their hours. tour by taking boat, and making an 2 Dahlwitz. excursion to the neighbouring island 21 Lichtenau. Hiddensöe, whose inhabitants, a poor. 21 Müncheberg. Here the post road and primitive race, not much raised to Frankfurt on the Oder branches off. above the condition of Esquimaux, live

24 Seelow. chiefly in turf-covered huts, and support 2. Küstrin. - Inns: Kron Prinz; themselves by fishing. Many of them Adler. A strong fortress and town of spend their whole lives on the spot, and 4700 inhab., surrounded by marshes, never set foot even on Rügen. There at the junction of the Warthe with the is not a bush on the whole island; for Oder, over which a bridge 875 ft. long fuel the people have recourse to peat or is thrown. Frederick the Great was

It was

confined in the old castle by bis impe- , old buildings, is situated on the left rious and crazy father, and compelled bank of the W. arm of the Vistula, or to look on while his friend Katte was Weichsel, about 3 m. above its influx executed on the ramparts. The great into the sea. It is traversed by 2 tripost road from Berlin to Posen and butaries of that river, the Mottlau and Warsaw strikes off here to the E. Radaune, and has 62,000 inhab. It is (Rte. 80 a.). 6 m. N. of Küs- a fortress of the first class, and the trin is the village of Zorndorf, where principal sea-port of Prussia. Frederick the Great, with 30,000 anciently a leading member of the Prussians, defeated 50,000 Russians, Hanseatic League, and a free city: it under Fermor, in 1758. A monument is still a place of great commerce, espemarks the spot where the king stood. cially in wheat brought down the VisThe road runs nearly parallel with the tula from Poland, and other coru-proWarthe, as far as

ducing countries, and shipped from 31 Balz. — Inn, Post.

hence to all parts of Europe. The 3 Landsberg. --- Inn, Golden Hirsch, exports of wheat are greater than from good. A flourishing small town, of any other port in the world. Here 10,000 inhab.

are extensive distilleries of brandy, 3. Friedeberg. Several small lakes which hence gets the name of Danzig. are passed on this stage.

The granaries, of enormous dimensions, 2 Woldenberg. The country is capable of holding 500,000 quarters of rather picturesque as far as

corn, are situated on an island called 2 Hochzeit, and is ornamented by Speicher Insel. To avoid the risk of other lakes.

fire, no one lives upon it, nor are lights 1 Zützer.

ever admitted. The timber trade is 2} Ruschendorf. Here the road to also very considerable. Königsberg by Bromberg (Route 80.) The.chief object of curiosity is the diverges.

brick Cathedral (Dom, or Marien2 Deutsche Krone. Inn, not very kirche), begun in 1343, by Von Waizau, good.

grand master of the Teutonic knights, 2 Schönthal.

who sent an architect, Ulric Ritter of 2 Jastrow. Inn, tolerable.

Strasburg, to Constantinople, to make 34 Peterswalde.

drawings of the church of St. Sophia 3 Schlochau,

there. The plan of copying that edifice, 2 Konitz. — Inns : * Löwe; Kron- however, was not carried into execution. prinz. A town with a population of The church, as it now stands, was not 2600. A monument commemorates finished till 1503; it is 358 ft. long. The the defeat of the Hussites. On the vaulted roof, supported by 26 slender Kreutzberg, outside the town, Casimir brick pillars, is 98 ft. above the paveof Poland was defeated by the Knights ment. Around the interior are 50 of the Teutonic Order, and lost his crown. chapels, originally founded by the chief 4 Czersk.

citizens as burial-places for themselves 3 Frankenfelde. Forests.

and their families. It possesses a fine 3 Preussisch-Stargard. - Inn, Gol- brass font, cast in 1554, in the Netherdene Krone; tolerable.

lands; and an astronomical clock, 3 Dirschau on the Vistula (Weich- which has long ceased to move. It sel); here the road to Danzig turns was made by an artist named Duringer, off from that to Königsberg ; the who, according to the story, was detraveller who does not intend to visit prived of his eyesight by the citizens Danzig continues on direct to Marien- of Danzig, to prevent his making burg (Route 78, p.418.).

similar clock for the rival town of 41 Danzig (in Polish, Gdansk). Hamburg. The blind artist, a short Inns : H. de Berlin, good ; Englisches time before his death, was led, by his Haus. Danzig, one of the oldest cities desire, to the spot where bis masterin Prussia, abounding in picturesque piece was placed ; and, with a pair of

3

[ocr errors]

scissors, cut a single small wire, which hooks, &c., to haul on board a fe:v sufficed at once to stop the clock, and miserable sinners, who but for their no subsequent attempt has succeeded assistance would inevitably be drowned. in repairing the injury. Such is the Notice should be taken of two pictures tradition. The great ornament of the by Danzig artists, a Last Judgment, by Dom is the celebrated Last Judgment, A. Müller, a pupil of Raphael, 1601, attributed to John Van Eyck (it has also and a Madonna and Christ, by Andreas been attributed to M. Wohlgemuth, Hugo Steck. In front is a fine fountain, van der Goes, and Justus of Ghent, see ornamented with bronze figures of Kugler, ş xvii. note by Sir E. Head), Neptune drawn by sea-horses. Not known as the Danzig Picture.

It was

far from the Arthushof is the Senate painted for the Pope, and while on its House, built probably in 1311, with a way to Rome was intercepted by belfry, dating from 1581. The tall pirates; but was retaken by a Danzig brick tower, called Stockthurm (1346), vessel, and deposited in the Cathedral, was originally one of the entrances into where it remained till 1807, when the the town: the turrets were added 1508: French transported it to Paris. “ On it is now a prison. its return, after the war, the king of The Grüne Thor, a large building, Prussia was very anxious to retain it originally designed as a lodging for at Berlin, and offered 40,000 dollars as the King of Poland, is now converted a compensation; but yielded to the into a Museum. The collection of impressing instances of the rightful owners plements, dresses, etc., was presented for its restoration." The picture is by Sir Joseph Banks. There is a said to bear about it the date 1367; if theatre here. so, it cannot be by the Van Eycks, A British consul resides here. One as they were but just born at that time. quarter of the town is called SchottA crucifix, carved on wood in a very land, from a colony of Scotch weavers. admirable style of art, and with great who settled here in the 14th century. truth of expression, is the second By means of the gigantic sluice-gates curiosity of this church. It has been near the Lege Thor, the country around here since the middle of the 15th cent., three sides of the town can be laid but the artist's name is unknown. under water, so as to contribute maAccording to the story, he actually terially to its defence from an hostile crucified one of his apprentices, in attack. There are besides several order to study more exactly the agonies strong external forts, as the Hagelsberg of a human being dying under such and the Bischofsberg; the last has been circumstances.

greatly strengthened of late, and comTrinity Church, of red brick, with pletely commands the town. richly ornamented gable, date 1431, Fahrenheit the optician, who invented merits attention.

the thermometer named after him, was The Long Murket abounds in antique born here. Marshal Lefebre, Napobuildings; the finest is the E:xchange, leon's general, was created by him called Arthushof, an imposing Gothic Duke of Danzig, in consequence of his edifice, built 1379; but altered and en having taken the town in 1807. It larged 1552. In its great hall, the was yielded back to the Prussians in. vaulted roof of which is supported by 4 1813, after an obstinate resistance, slender pillars of granite, the guilds and maintained by the French under corporations formerly met. Their laws, General Rapp for many months, until in rhyme, are still hung up in it; and the town was reduced, by famine and its walls are further decorated with pestilence, to the lowest depth of discarvings, old armour, and pictures ; tress. the most singular of which is a repre- The port of Danzig is Neufahrwasser, sentation of the church, under the form at the mouth of the western arm of the of a ship, sailing to heaven full of Vistula. It is defended by the fort monks, who are throwing out ropes, Weichselmunde, has a light-house and

The apart.

re

an extensive pier at the entrance of the of the Baltic, was built at different channel. Steambouts daily, except periods; the Alte Schloss, now much Sunday, to Königsberg. Schnellposts decayed, in 1276 ; the Middle Castle to Stetiin, Königsberg, and Berlin. in 1309, at the time when the seat of

At the Convent of Oliva (suppressed the Order was removed hither from 1830), 7 m. N. W. of Danzig, the treaty | Venice; and the Niedere Schloss in of peace between Sweden and Poland 1335. In 1457 it was surrendered to was signed 1660. The Church and clois- the Poles, after having been in the ters remain. The Abbot's Castle now possession of the Order 148 years, and belongs to the King, and has fine baving been governed by 17 Grand grounds. The sandy downs are clothed | Masters. Since 1815 the central buildwith rich beech woods.

ing has been rescued from ruin, and admirably restored, by the aid of the

archives of the order, now at KönigsROUTE 78.

berg, which have been carefully con

sulted by the architect. It consists of DANZIG TO KÖNIGSBERG.

three stories, the cellar, ground floor, 24 Pruss. m. =113} Eng. m. and master's dwelling.

Courier-post, 5 times a-week, in 17 ments have been richly decorated with hours. In going from Danzig to painted glass, encaustic tiles, wood Königsberg, the preceding route must panelling. The principal one, the be retraced as far as

Convent's Remter (Chapter House), in 43 Dirschau, The W. arm of the which assemblies of the Order were Vistula is here crossed by a bridge of held, and foreign ambassadors boats, about to be replaced by a per- ceived, is supported on three granite manent bridge, a work of great solidity; pillars. The Meister's Remter is a circu. and the road then traverses the fertile tri- lar apartment, supported by a single angular plain, or Delta, deposited by the pillar of granite in the centre. The river, which is bounded at the further Poles, while besieging Marienburg in extremity by the eastern arm, called 1410, endeavoured to aim a cannonNogath. The country between the ball so as to shoot away this pillar, and Vistula and Nogath lies below the overwhelm at one blow beneath the level of these rivers and of the Baltic, ruins the Grand Master and all his and is protected from inundations solely knights, whom they knew, from the by dykes and wind-mills, as is the case information of a deserter, to be at the in Holland. A bridge of boats is time assembled in conclave. The ball thrown across the Nogath, and on its missed its aim, but lodged in a corner right bank stands

of the chimney, where it still remains. 24 Marienburg. Inn, Hochmeister. The Church, in a very chaste style, An ancient town of 5400 inhab., chiefly and tolerably perfect, is decorated exremarkable as the seat of the once ternally with a figure of the Virgin, powerful Knights of the Teutonic Order, in relief, of stucco covered with coloured to whom this country was ceded in the and gilt mosaic, 26 feet high ; it dis13th cent. by the King of Poland. plays considerable skill and knowledge After a struggle of 53 years, the knights of art. Many of the Grand Masters effectually subdued the pagan and then of the Order repose in vaults beneath barbarous Prussians. The germ of the the Chureh, in simple coffins. Many present Prussian empire sprung, in fact, cells of the knightly monks, and their from them; and they appear likewise subterranean dungeons, still exist. The to have laid the foundation of that building has been rescued from ruin, military spirit which still animates the and partly restored by the taste and nation. The Castle, or Paluce of the munificence of the King. The ButterGrand Masters, an imposing edifice, of milk Tower is so called, because, accordbrickwork, beautiful in construction, in ing to the tradition, the peasants, coma style of Gothic peculiar to the vicinity pelled to build it by forced labour for the Order, were also obliged to slake generally known, that the Papal excomthe lime with buttermilk.

munication of Copernicus, for publishBeyond Marienburg, the road passes ing his system of the Heavens, was through a populous country, abounding revoked in 1821. in villages, and showing evidences of 14 Braunsberg. - Inns : Deutsches prosperity and improvement.

Haus; Schwarzer Adler. A town of 44 Elbing. - Inn, Stadt Berlin. A 7300 inbab., on the Passarge. Baron decayed trading town, with a popu- | Trenck, the prisoner, was born here. lation of 24,000, on the Elbing, a 23 Quilitten. The road continues navigable stream emptying itself into the by the water-side all the way to KönigsFrische Haff, an extensive lake sepa- berg. rated from the Baltic by a narrow strip 24 Brandenburg. of land, and receiving a large portion 23 KÖNIGSBERG (Polish, Krolewof the waters of the Vistula. The lecz; Latin, Regiomontum; LithuMarienkirche contains some curious anian, Karalanczug). Inns : Schönsculptures ; date, 1500. On quit- berg's Hotel; Rheinischer Hof; ting Elbing a good view is obtained | Deutsches Haus; H. du Nord. of it. Steamers ply to Königsberg Königsberg, once the capital of daily.

Prussia Proper, and long the residence 2 Hütte.

of the Electors of Brandenburg, still 1 Frauenburg, a small town on the ranks as third city in the Prussian doshore of the Haff. Copernicus, the minions in extent of population, having great astronomer, died here, and is 80,000 inhab. It is being strongly reburied in the Cathedral, a handsome fortified, on the plan of detached forts. building on a height overlooking the | The Defensions Caserne is finished. town and Haff (erected 1342), contain- Its Palace (Schloss), a large ugly ing, besides his tomb, which is a simple building, now converted into a gotablet bearing a globe, some curiosities, vernment-house, was founded by Ot. as crucifixes, monstrances, &c. Coper- tokar, King of Bohemia, after leading nicus was a canon of the cathedral, and a crusade against the heathen Preussi, lived in one of the houses which sur- 1257. It afterwards became the reround it. Within the enclosure is a sidence of the Grand Masters of the well, furnished with water by an aque. Teutonic Order. It was the residuct and hydraulic works, constructed dence of the late King of Prussia and

The machinery of the pumps his queen Louisa, when driven by Nawhich he erected has long since dis- poleon's arms from Berlin. Under one appeared, but a model of it is still pre- wing is a large wine cellar, extending beserved in the cathedral, and is supposed low the ground; over it is the Schlossto have been imitated in the waterworks kirche, in which Frederick Elector of at Marly, near Versailles. The tower Brandenburg in 1701 placed the crown which contained it still stands near the on his own head, assuming the title of cathedral, and is called Kunst Thurm. Frederick I. King of Prussia. Above It bears on its southern wall the follow the church is a vast hall, 300 ft. long, ing inscription :

60 broad, and only 19 high, destitute “Hic patienter aquæ sursum properaré coactæ,

of ornament, called Moskowitzer Saal; Ne careat sitiens incola montis ope.

so called from the Muscovite ambas. Quod Natura negat, tribuit Copernicus arte; sadors of the Grand Duke Basilius, who Unum pro cunctis fama loquatur opus.'

were received here by Margrave Albert. Besides supplying the Domberg, or A thick pillar runs through every floor cathedral hill, he introduced into the from the cellar upwards, and on breaktown, by collecting the neighbouring ing into it some years ago, it was streams, a current of water sufficient to found to be hollow, and partly filled turn a corn mill, an advantage which with bones of persons executed during its inhabitants did not before enjoy. the rule of the Order, and whose bodies

It is a curious fact, and perhaps not I had been thrown down from above.

by him.

« 上一頁繼續 »