« 上一頁繼續 »
both of natural and revealed religion: hence the title of his book, Antiscepticism, which is written in a clear and not illiberal strain. James Gardiner, A. B. of this college, son of Dr. James Gardiner, Bishop of Lincoln, in 1694, published a poetical work of Gardens, being a translation of Renatus Rapin's Latin Poem “. . Mr. Hardy published a Greek Testament, in 2 vols. of which there have been two editions, 1768 and 1776; and Robert Potter, A. M. 17 88, much distinguished himself as the translator of Æschylus and Euripides. ..
* This excellent poem was translated first by Mr. Evelyn, the wellknown author of Sylva. -
This college has educated two persons who have written the History of the University: it is, then, natural to suppose the accounts of their own college will be authentic and correct; for their authorities will, of course, be taken from its archives; and, by their own account, there are several writings, which unfold its history. Their testimonies, therefore, ought to be as good guides as the registers themselves. As low as their histories are brought, (which, indeed, is not very low) we may look to Caius and Parker, and may venture to rely on their histories.
This should have been placed, in its due order, as the seventh college; of which one part was founded in 1348, by the Rev. Edmund Gonvile, rector of Terrington,in Norfolk. It was constructed, at the first, between Lugburn Street (now Freeschool Lane) the church-yard of St. Botolph's, and Bene’t” College, on the place where is now the garden. of that college. It was called by the founder Gonvile Hall, and dedicated to the Annunciation of the Blessed Mary. He placed in it a master, with four fellows, and in his life-time supported them out
• Colleg. Corp. Christi, et Beatae Mariae.
of his own funds. This he soon exchanged for two buildings of Bene’t, one that had belonged to Sir John Cantebridge, called the Stone-house, the other to John Goldcorne, with schools, shops, and gardens, (to use the words of Gonvile) on the place called Henney; and the Hall, with its master' and fellows, being thus removed, was confirmed, in 1853, by Robert Bateman, Bishop of Norwich, who had been appointed the executor of Gonvile’s will.
These two buildings, which (as the ancient records of
the same college shew) were formerly schools'of philosophy and tradesmen's shops, were built in Henney, in the parish of St. Michael, not far from St. John Baptist's Church, which stood where is now King's" College Hall; and of them was constructed Gonvile Hall, at least the north side : the western and southern, as far as the chapel, were built by Thomas at Wood, formerly provost of the same college, John Warrok, and John Preston, citizens of Norwich, and other worthy TheII . the remaining part of the western side, that is, the chapel, had been built long before, by William Rougham, a physician, the second provost of this college; the eastern side, not seventy years since, by Elizabeth Clerc, the most pious widow of John Clerc, Esq. of Norfolk. Thus, by degrees, the building was formed into a square. The revenues were increased by other patrons, Mrs. Margaret Pakenham, John Bailey, professor of theology, Stephen Smyth, Mrs. Anne Scroope, William
• In Parker's History of Cambridge, p. 69, it reads the Hall of Queen's College, whieh, it is to be hoped, is an error of the press; for it is meant to be translated from Caius, where it is regalis, not reginalis; and neither the word nor the site will allow it to be 2ueen’s,