« 上一頁繼續 »
controversialist died in peace, and a good old age, (eightythree,) in the year 1787. He took his A. M. degree in 1783.
J. Hucks, fellow, published a volume of poems, in 1798.
“He was not one of our great poets, and is not much known.” If not a great poet, he seems to have been something better. Mr. H. says, in his preface, they were his first essays in poetry, and that they would probably be his last. Taking to the study of the law, he left poetry, and both very soon for the grave.
Permitte—nunc super ilice
Ambiguis fluitare ramis,
But, The Retrospect, no good man needed to have blushed
Peace, a poor Exile, from life’s rocky bourne,
Mr. Hucks took his A. M. degree in 1797. &
Kenrick Prescot, S. T. B. 1738, S.T. P. 1749, and master, wrote a treatise on Paul at Athens, and one on Horace: in the former, he considers the connexion of polite letters and religion, and concludes with some appropriate endearments with his Alma Mater (though he brings her in too late), whom he calls, as Diodorus Siculus did
Athens, zowow wavrov was writion the common instructress of all: in the latter, he attempts to shew, what will, perhaps, startle some readers, that the often-quoted passage aliquando bonus domitat Homerus,
does not intend literally Homer, but figuratively Ennius, called, in his time, the sleeping Homer. Of both Dr. Preston's books it may be said, that had the author's taste been equal to his learning, he might have improved his fancies into elegant probabilities. The latter work contains much that is valuable, more particularly what he says concerning Longinus. -- ", A word or two relating to the building, and gardens of this Hall. The buildings, that form it, then, compose three sides of a quadrangle, built of brick, and in good taste, and of a fair collegiate appearance, at an equal remove from monastic gloom and unnecessary magnificence. They are approached through a piece of ground planted with elms, and with iron palisades fronting, through which the court and building are seen to the best advantage. The west front presents the longest façade in the University, and has a meat portico, the gateway and upper stories of the Tuscan order, having as much of elegance, as that order well admits, or as their relation to the other parts of the building requires. Bishop Sherlock's library is a good room, well arranged; the hall is of proper proportions, and neatly stuccoed, and has a portrait of the founder, a good picture, whencesoever it was copied, or whatever its likeness may be. The chapel, on the north side of the court, is a good edifice of modern structure, built of brick, with a stone door-case and windowframes, a handsome inside, neatly wainscoted with oak, vol. II. N
and having a black and white marble pavement. The old chapel was in the middle of the court, where the garden is; but the bones were removed to the new one, that was consecrated by the Bishop of Ely, Sept. 1, 1704*. In this chapel are two or three monuments, that are memorable; one, in the ante-chapel, for its singularity. It is erected to the memory of a lady, and the inscription highly wrought up. Its singularity consists in its being the only monument, that I know of, to a lady within college-walls at Cambridge, with the exception of that very ancient one in the transept of Jesús-College chapel, which is sacred to the good nun, Berte Rosata. The lady to whom this monument is sacred is, Lady Frances Dawes, wife of Sir Thomas Dawes, who was formerly master of the college, but resigned, on being raised to the archbishopric of York”. Another monument is memorable, as being erected to Dr. Addenbrooke, founder of the hospital in this town, that bears his name, and who died in 1719. A third is memorable, both as recording the time when the college was new built, and the person, known too by his writings, under whose mastership, and by whose zeal, the building was raised. This was Dr. John Eachard, twice vice-chancellor of the University, and who died master of this college in 1697, the author of a book, which made some stir in the world, entitled, Reasons of the Contempt of the Clergy.
*The Consecration Sermon, by John Lang, B. D. fellow, was printed, together with the Form of Consecration.
* He was promoted to Chester 1709, and translated to York in 1718.
He died in 1724. Godwin. de Praesul. Ang. p. 716. His works were
published in three volumes, 8vo. 1735.
Passing from the hall, chapel, and other parts of these buildings, we may spend a minute or two agreeably enough in the garden. No scene is more pleasing to the eye than a garden, or spreads over the mind a finer calm : this, in the present instance, may be assisted, on observing how the features of this piece of ground harmomize with the general character of the place. It is a flower-garden, a little spot, but neat and elegant: formerly, about some 50 years ago, a statue of Charity stood in the midst; and though ancient or foreign statues may not comport well with an English garden, as having no relation to the place, and expressing no important meaning, yet Charity never faileth; she is the genius of all climes and ages, and in a place, that was founded by a . lady, and of which a lady is the protectress'saint, a statue of Charity was a natural memento, and an appropriate decoration.
A contemplative mind might, perhaps, find further matter for reflection, on recollecting that on the spot where is now the garden, was formerly a chapel: thus time changes every thing; and the place which at one period is the grave of human beings, becomes, at another, a garden, fragrant with sweets, and blooming with vegetative life.
And, who would change these soft, yet solid joys,
THIS college attracts the notice of strangers beyond
most, as well from the magnificence of its buildings, as the agreeableness of its situation. Proudly, too, may it be spoken of by its members, for it has a proud title, and was founded by a king. In the year 1441, which was the 19th year of Hen. VI. that prince erected a college sacred to St. Nicholas, for one rector, and 12 scholars, on the site where formerly stood two celebrated churches, those of St. Nicholas, and St. John Baptist or of Zacharias. Two years after, Henry changed his plan, appointing, at first, a provost, (praepositus) 70 fellows, 10 presbyters, (presbyteros) 6 clericos, clerks, and 16 choristers". To the college, thus invested with new officers, he assigned a new name, consecrating it to the blessed Virgin Mary and the glorious confessor St. Nicholas, no doubt affected,
• According to Hatcher, the number in his time were, one provost, (praepositus)70 fellows and scholars, three conductiochaplains) ten presbyteri (priests) six clerici, 16 choristae, scholars (formerly 13) servitors waiting on the senior fellows, and 16 college servants, preter indigentiores scholares, qui ex residuis ferculis quotidie reficiuntur,