CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2016年8月30日 - 160 頁

Classics for Your Collection:



Upon the death of her father, Pollyanna is sent to live with her Aunt Polly, who - as she sees it - is doing her duty by her estranged dead sister's child. Pollyanna meets all sorts of new people, many of them worn down by their own challenging lives, and some of them emotionally distant as a result of lost lovers.

She manages to transform not only her aunt but many other townspeople with the 'Glad Game' her father taught her. Always look for the silver lining in every cloud and you'll be bound to find it.

Pollyanna, the eternal optimist, plays the 'glad game' where she always tries to find something to be glad about, no matter how challenging. Also, everyone who comes into contact with Pollyanna is happily inspired by her wonderful, positive outlook and becomes a more enlightened person because of it.


Pollyanna is a best-selling 1913 novel by Eleanor H. Porter that is now considered a classic of children's literature, with the title character's name becoming a popular term for someone with the same very optimistic outlook.

Also, the subconscious bias towards the positive is often described as the Pollyanna principle. The book was such a success that Porter soon produced a sequel, Pollyanna Grows Up (1915). Eleven more Pollyanna sequels, known as "Glad Books", were later published, most of them written by Elizabeth Borton or Harriet Lummis Smith. Further sequels followed, including Pollyanna Plays the Game by Colleen L. Reece, published in 1997.

Facts and Trivia:

Pollyanna has been adapted for film several times. Some of the best known are Disney's 1960 version starring child actress Hayley Mills, who won a special Oscar for the role, and the 1920 version starring Mary Pickford.

Scroll Up and Grab Your Copy!

Children's Classics

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twainhttps://www.createspace.com/6394066
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twainhttps://www.createspace.com/6427418
American Fairy Tales by L. Frank Baumhttps://www.createspace.com/6413969
The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Loftinghttps://www.createspace.com/6356525
The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williamshttps://www.createspace.com/6429910
Grimm's Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimmhttps://www.createspace.com/6440051
Sky Island by L. Frank Baumhttps://www.createspace.com/6446563
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnetthttps://www.createspace.com/6455917
The Railway Children by E. Nesbit https://www.createspace.com/6483012
Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know by Hamilton Wright Mabie https://www.createspace.com/6516484

The Oz Series

Book 1: The Wonderful Wizard of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6426287
Book 2: The Marvelous Land of Oz https://www.createspace.com/6462832
Book 3: Ozma of Oz https://www.createspace.com/6356346
Book 4: Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz https://www.createspace.com/6464450
Book 5: The Road to Oz https://www.createspace.com/6464521
Book 6: The Emerald City of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6464602
Book 7: The Patchwork Girl of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6464682
Book 8: TIK-TOK of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6353841
Book 9: The Scarecrow of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6461981
Book 10: Rinkitink in Oz https://www.createspace.com/6464764
Book 11: The Lost Princess of Oz https://www.createspace.com/6465342
Book 12: The Tin Woodman of Ozhttps://www.createspace.com/6466582
Book 13: The Magic of Oz https://www.createspace.com/6466620
Book 14: Glinda of OZhttps://www.createspace.com/6461890

其他版本 - 查看全部

關於作者 (2016)

Eleanor Emily Hodgman Porter (December 19, 1868 - May 21, 1920) was an American novelist. She was born as Eleanor Emily Hodgman in Littleton, New Hampshire, on December 19, 1868, as the daughter of Llewella French (née Woolson) and Francis Fletcher Hodgman. She was trained as a singer, attending the New England Conservatory for several years. In 1892 she married John Lyman Porter and relocated to Massachusetts, after which she began writing and publishing her short stories and, later, novels. Porter wrote mainly children's literature, adventure stories, and romance fiction. Her most famous novel is Pollyanna (1913), followed by a sequel, Pollyanna Grows Up (1915). Her adult novels include The Turn of the Tide (1908), The Road to Understanding (1917), Oh Money! Money! (1918), Dawn (1919), Keith's Dark Tower (1919), Mary Marie (1920), and Sister Sue (1921); her short-story collections include Across the Years (c. 1923), Money, Love and Kate (1923), and Little Pardner (1926). Porter achieved considerable commercial success: Pollyanna ranked eighth among best-selling novels in the United States during 1913, second during 1914, and fourth during 1915 (with 47 printings between 1915 and 1920).