網頁圖片
PDF
ePub 版

for Tonson, and the first words that Lintot says Lamb, in his delightful way, "attached our read were : "That Bernard Lintot is so great a small talents to the forlorn fortunes of our friend. scoundrel.” In the same shop, which was then Our occupation was now to write treason." Lamb occupied by Jacob Robinson, the publisher, Pope hinted at possible abdications. Blocks, axes, and first met Warburton. An interesting account of Whitehall tribunals were covered with flowers of so this meeting is given by Sir John Hawkins, which cunning a periphrasismas, Mr. Bayes says, never it may not be out of place to quote here. “The naming the thing directly—that the keen eye of an friendship of Pope and Warburton," he says, Attorney-General was insufficient to detect the “had its commencement in that bookseller's shop lurking snake among them. which is situate on the west side of the gateway At the south-west corner of Chancery Lane leading down the Inner Temple Lane. Warbur- (No. 193) once stood an old house said to have ton had some dealings with Jacob Robinson, the been the residence of that unfortunate reformer, publisher, to whom the shop belonged, and may be Sir John Oldcastle, Lord Cobham, who was burnt supposed to have been drawn there on business ; in St. Giles's Fields in 1417 (Henry V.) In Pope might have made a call of the like Charles II.'s reign the celebrated Whig Green kind. However that may be, there they met, Ribbon Club used to meet here, and from the and entering into conversation, which was not balcony flourish their periwigs, discharge squibs, soon ended, conceived a mutual liking, and, as we and wave torches, when a great Protestant procesmay suppose, plighted their faith to each other. sion passed by, to burn the effigy of the Pope at The fruit of this interview and of the subsequent the Temple Gate. The house, five stories high and communications of the parties was the publication, covered with carvings, was pulled down for City in November, 1739, of a pamphlet with this title, improvements in 1799. 'A Vindication of Mr. Pope's “Essay on Man," Upon the site of No. 192 (east corner of Chancery by the Author of “The Divine Legation of Lane) the father of Cowley, that fantastic poet of Moses." Printed for J. Robinson.' At the Charles II.'s time, it is said carried on the trade of Middle Temple Gate, Benjamin Motte, successor a grocer. In 1740 a later grocer there sold the to Ben Tooke, published Swift's “Gulliver's finest caper tea for 24s. per lb., his fine green for Travels," for which he had grudgingly given 18s. per lb., hyson at 16s. per lb., and bohea at only £200.

The third door from Chancery Lane (No.197, north No house in Fleet Street has a more curious side), Mr. Timbs points out, was in Charles II.'s pedigree than that gilt and painted shop opposite time a tombstone-cutter's; and here, in 1684, Howel, Chancery Lane (No. 17, south side), falsely called whose “ Letters” give us many curious pictures of the palace of Henry VIII. and Cardinal Wolsey." his time, saw a huge monument to four of the Oxen- It was originally the office of the Duchy of Cornham family, at the death of each of whom a white wall, in the reign of James I. It is just possible bird appeared fluttering about their bed. These that it was the house originally built by Sir Amyas miraculous occurrences had taken place at a town Paulet, at Wolsey's command, in resentment for Sir near Exeter, and the witnesses' names duly ap- Amyas having set Wolsey, when a mere parish peared below the epitaph. No. 197 was afterwards priest, in the stocks for a brawl. Wolsey, at the time Rackstrow's museum of natural curiosities and ana- of the ignominious punishment, was schoolmaster to tomical figures; and the proprietor put Sir Isaac the children of the Marquis of Dorset. Paulet Newton's head over the door for a sign. Among was confined to this house for five or six years, to other prodigies was the skeleton of a whale more appease the proud cardinal, who lived in Chancery than seventy feet long. Donovan, a naturalist, Lane. Sir Amyas rebuilt his prison, covering the succceded Rackstrow (who died in 1772) with his front with badges of the cardinal. It was afterLondon museum. Then, by a harlequin change, wards “Nando's,” a famous coffee-house, where No. 197 became the office of the Albion newspaper. Thurlow picked up his first great brief. One night Charles Lamb was turned over to this journal from Thurlow, arguing here keenly about the celebrated the Morning Post. The editor, John Fenwick, the Douglas case, was heard by some lawyers with " Bigot" of Lamb's “Essay," was a needy, sanguine delight, and the next day, to his astonishment, man, who had purchased the paper of a person was appointed junior counsel. This cause won named Lovell, who had stood in the pillory for a him a silk gown, and so his fortune was made libel against the Prince of Wales. For a long time by that one lucky night at “Nando's.” No. 17 Fenwick contrived to pay the Stamp Office dues by was afterwards the place where Mrs. Salmon (the money borrowed from compliant friends. “We,” | Madame Tussaud of early times) exhibited her

7s. per lb.

[ocr errors]

waxwork kings and queens. There was a figure tamily, and in him the poetry of refined wealth on crutches at the door; and Old Mother Shipton, found a fitting exponent. Fleet Street, indeed, is the witch, kicked the astonished visitor as he left. rich in associations connected with bankers and Mrs. Salmon died in 1812. The exhibition was booksellers; for at No. 19 (south side) we come to then sold for £500, and removed to Water Lane. Messrs. Gosling's. This bank was founded in 1650 When Mrs. Salmon first removed from St. Martin's- by Henry Pinckney, a goldsmith, at the sign of se-Grand to near St. Dunstan's Church, she an- the "Three Squirrels ”—a sign still to be seen in nounced, with true professional dignity, that the the ironwork over the centre window. The original new locality “was more convenient for the quality's sign of solid silver, about two feet in height, made coaches to stand unmolested." Her“ Royal Court to lock and unlock, was discovered in the house in of England” included 150 figures. When the 1858. It had probably been taken down on the exhibition removed to Water Lane, some thieves general removal of out-door signs and forgotten. one night got in, stripped the effigies of their In a secret service

money account of the time finery, and broke half of them, throwing them into of Charles II., there is an entry of a sum of a heap that almost touched the ceiling.

£646 8s. 6d. for several parcels of gold and silver Tonson, Dryden's publisher, commenced business lace bought of William Gosling and partners by at the "Judge's Head," near the Inner Temple the fair Duchess of Cleveland, for the wedding gate, so that when at the Kit-Kat Club he was not clothes of the Ladies Sussex and Lichfield. far from his own shop. One day Dryden, in a rage, No. 32 (south side), still a publisher's, was oridrew the greedy bookseller with terrible force:- ginally kept for forty years by William Sandby,

one of the partners of Snow's bank in the Strand. “With leering looks, bull-faced, and speckled fair, He sold the business and goodwill in 1762 for With two left legs and Judas-coloured hair,

£400, to a lieutenant of the Royal Navy, named And frowzy pores that taint the ambient air.”

John M'Murray, who, dropping the Mac, became The poet promised a fuller portrait if the “dog" the well-known Tory publisher. Murray tried tormented him further.

in vain to induce Falconer, the author of “The Opposite Mrs. Salmon's, two doors west of old Shipw:eck," to join him as a partner. The first Chancery Lane, till 1799, when the lawyer's lane Murray died in 1793. In 1812 John Murray, the was widened, stood an old, picturesque, gabled son of the founder, removed to 50, Albemarle house, which was once the milliner's shop kept, Street. In the Athenæum of 1843 a writer dein 1624, by that good old soul, Isaak Walton. He scribes how Byron used to stroll in here fresh from was on the Vestry Board of St. Dunstan's, and his fencing-lessons at Angelo's or his sparringwas constable and overseer for the precinct next bouts with Jackson. He was wont to make cruel Temple Bar; and on pleasant summer evenings lunges with his stick at what he called “the spruce he used to stroll out to the Tottenham fields, rod books” on Murray's shelves, generally striking in hand, to enjoy the gentle sport which he so the doomed volume, and by no means improving much loved. He afterwards (1632) lived seven the bindings. "I was sometimes, as you will doors up Chancery Lane, west side, and there guess," Murray used to say with a laugh, "glad to married the sister of that good Christian, Bishop get rid of him." Here, in 1807, was published Ken, who wrote the “Evening Hymn," one of “Mrs. Rundell's Domestic Cookery;" in 1809, the the most simply beautiful religious poems ever Quarterly Review; and, in 1811, Byron's “Childe written. It is pleasant in busy Fleet Street to Harold.” think of the good old citizen on his guileless The original Columbarian Society, long since way to the river Lea, conning his verses on the extinct, was born at offices in Fleet Street, near delights of angling.

St. Dunstan's. This society was replaced by the Praed's Bank (No. 189, north side) was founded Pholoperisteron, dear to all pigeon-fanciers, which early in this century by Mr. William Praed, a held its meetings at “Freemasons' Tavern," and banker of Truro. The house had been originally eventually amalgamated with its rival, the National the shop of Mrs. Salmon, till she moved to opposite Columbarian, the fruitful union producing the Chancery Lane, and her wax kings and frail queens National Peristeronic Society, now a flourishing inwere replaced by piles of strong boxes and chests stitution, meeting periodically at “ Evans's," and of gold. The house was rebuilt in 1802, from holding a great fluttering and most pleasant annual the designs of Sir John Soane, whose curious show at the Crystal Palace. It is on these occa. museum still exists in Lincoln's Inn Fields. Praed, sions that clouds of carrier-pigeons are let off, to that delightful poet of society, was of the banker's decide the speed with which the swiftest and besttrained bird can reach a certain spot (a flight, of the building falling. Every face turned pale ; but

; course, previously known to the bird), generally in the preacher, full of faith, sat calmly down in the Belgium.

pulpit till the panic subsided, then, resuming his The first St. Dunstan's Church—“in the West," sermon, said reprovingly, "We are in the service of as it is now called, to distinguish it from one near God, to prepare ourselves that we may be fearless Tower Street—was built prior to 1237. The present at the great noise of the dissolving world when the building was erected in 1831. The older church heavens shall pass away and the elements melt stood thirty feet forward, blocking the carriage-way, with fervent heat." and shops with projecting signs were built against Mr. Noble, in his record of this parish, has the east and west walls. The churchyard was a remarked on the extraordinary longevity attained favourite locality for booksellers. One of the most by the incumbents of St. Dunstan's. Dr. White interesting stories connected with the old building held the living for forty-nine years ; Dr. Grant, for relates to Felton, the fanatical assassin of the Duke fifty-nine; the Rev. Joseph Williamson (Wilkes's of Buckingham, the favourite of Charles I. The chaplain) for forty-one years; while the Rev. murderer's mother and sisters lodged at a haber- William Romaine continued lecturer for forty-six dasher's in Fleet Street, and were attending ser- years. The solution of the problem probably is vice in St. Dunstan's Church when the news arrived that a good and secure income is the best promoter from Portsmouth; they swooned away when they of longevity. Several members of the great bankheard the name of the assassin. Many of the ing family of Hoare are buried in St. Dunstan's; clergy of St. Dunstan's have been eminent men. but by far the most remarkable monument in the Tyndale, the translator of the New Testament, did church bears the following inscription :daty here. The poet Donne was another of the

“ HOBSON JUDKINS, Esq., late of Clifford's Inn, the St. Dunstan's worthies; and Sherlock and Romaine Honest Solicitor, who departed this life June 30, 1812. both lectured at this church. The rectory house, sold This tablet was erected by his clients, as a token of gratitude in 1693, was No. 183. The clock of old St. Dunstan's and respect for his honest, faithful, and friendly conduct to was one of the great London sights in the last cen

them throughout life. Go, reader, and imitate Hobson

Judkins.” tury. The giants that struck the hours had been set up in 1671, and were made by Thomas Harrys, Among the burials at St. Dunstan's noted in of Water Lane, for £35 and the old clock. Lord the registers, the following are the most remarkHertford purchased them, in 1830, for £210, and able :—1559-60, Doctor Oglethorpe, the Bishop set them up at his villa in Regent's Park. When of Carlisle, who crowned Queen Elizabeth ; 1664,

. a child he was often taken to see them; and he Dame Bridgett Browne, wife of Sir Richard then used to say that some day he would buy “those Browne, major-general of the City forces, who giants.” Hatton, writing in 1708, says that these offered £1,000 reward for the capture of Oliver figures were more admired on Sundays by the Cromwell ; 1732, Christopher Pinchbeck, the inpopulace than the most eloquent preacher in the ventor of the metal named after him and a pulpit within ; and Cowper, in his “ Table Talk,” maker of musical clocks. The Plague seems to cleverly compares dull poets to the St. Dunstan's have made great havoc in St. Dunstan's, for in giants :

1665, out of 856 barials, 568 in only three months “When labour and when dulness, club in hand, are marked “P.,” for Plague. The present church,

Like the two figures at St. Dunstan stand, built in 1830–3, was designed by John Shaw, who
Beating alternately, in measured time,

died on the twelfth day after the completion of the The clock-work tintinnabulum of rhyme.”

outer shell, leaving his son to finish his work. The The most interesting relic of modern St. Dunstan's church is of a flimsy Gothic, the true revival having is that unobtrusive figure of Queen Elizabeth at hardly then commenced. The eight bells are from the east end. This figure first came to the old the old church. The two heads over the chief church from Ludgate when the City gates were entrance are portraits of Tyndale and Dr. Donne ; destroyed in 1786. It was bought for £,16 1os. and the painted window is the gift of the Hoare when the old church came to the ground, and was family. re-erected over the vestry entrance.

The com

m- According to Aubrey, Drayton, the great topopanion statues of King Lud and his two sons graphical poet, lived at "the bay-window house were deposited in the parish bone-house. On next the east end of St. Dunstan's Church.” Now one occasion when Baxter was preaching in it is a clearly proved fact that the Great Fire the old church of St. Dunstan’s, there arose a stopped just three doors east of St. Dunstan's, panic among the audience from two alarms of as did also, Mr. Timbs says, another remarkable fire in 1730; so it is not impossible that the author translators lay three in a bed at the “Pewter of "The Polyolbion," that good epic poem, once Platter Inn” at Holborn. He published the most lived at the present No. 180, though the next disgraceful books and forged letters. Curll, in his house eastward is certainly older than its neigh-revengeful spite, accused Pope of pouring an emetic bour. We have given a drawing of the house. into his half-pint of canary when he and Curll and

That shameless rogue, Edmund Curll, lived at Lintot met by appointment at the “Swan Tavern,"

[graphic][ocr errors][subsumed]

MRS. SALMON'S WAXWORK, FLEET STREET—" PALACE OF HENRY VIII. AND CARDINAL WOLSEY” (see page 45).

the “Dial and Bible," against St. Dunstan's Church. / Fleet Street. By St. Dunstan's, at the “Homer's When this clever rascal was put in the pillory at Head,” also lived the publisher of the first correct Charing Cross, he persuaded the mob he was in edition of "The Dunciad.” 'for a political offence, and so secured the pity of Among the booksellers who crowded round old the crowd. The author of “ John Buncle” de St. Dunstan’s were Thomas Marsh, of the “Prince's scribes Curll as a tall, thin, awkward man, with Arms,” who printed Stow's “ Chronicles ;” and goggle eyes, splay feet, and knock-knees. His William Griffith, of the “Falcon," in St. Dunstan's

"

Churchyard, who, in the year 1565, issued, without the three timid publishers who ventured on a the authors' consent, Gorboduc, written by Thomas certain poem, called “The Paradise Lost,” giving Norton and Lord Buckhurst, the first real English John Milton, the blind poet, the enormous sum of tragedy and the first play written in English blank £5 down, £5 on the sale of 1,300 copies of the verse. John Smethwicke, a still more honoured first, second, and third impressions, in all the name,“ under the diall” of St. Dunstan's Church, munificent recompense of £20; the agreement

[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]

published “Hamlet” and “Romeo and Juliet." | was given to the British Museum in 1852, by Samuel Richard Marriot, another St. Dunstan's bookseller, Rogers, the banker poet. published Quarles' “Emblems," Dr. Donne's Nor in this list of Fleet Street printers must we “ Sermons," that delightful, simple-hearted book, forget to insert Richard Pynson, from Normandy, Isaak Walton's “Complete Angler,” and Butler's who had worked at Caxton's press, and was a “ Hudibras,” that wonderful mass of puns and contemporary of De Worde. According to Mr. quibbles, pressed close as potted meat. Matthias T.C. Noble, to whose work we are deeply indebted, Walker, a St. Dunstan's bookseller, was one of Pynson printed, at his office, the “George" (first

« 上一頁繼續 »