網頁圖片
PDF
ePub 版

THE ROOF.

The roof of the Choir was executed in 1508 by Sir Reginald Bray, the expense of which was met by subscriptions among the Knights of the Garter. It is one of the most beautiful specimens of the Gothic stone roof which can anywhere be seen.' * The ornamental bosses on the vaultings are best described to the visitors by those whose duty it is to shew the Chapel.

The Arms and Devices peculiar to Sir Reginald Bray are particularly frequent in the roof, showing how great his benefactions to the Chapel had been.

THE CHOIR.

Nothing in wood carving can exceed the excellence which is here seen. The Canopies of the Knights and the Stalls are very elaborate. On the front at the west end of the Choir are displayed the exploits of St. George; and on the pedestals is a series of Scripture illustrations from the Nativity to the Ascension of our Saviour. Especially worthy of notice is the Latin inscription beautifully cut in Old English characters on a girth outside the upper seats of the knights: it is a prayer for "The Royal Foundation of Edward III and the future Sovereigns of the Order of the Garter."

On each side of the Choir are arranged the Stalls of the Sovereign and the Knights Companions of the Order. Above the Stalls are suspended their banners, and beneath the banners the mantles, swords, and helmets of

*Among the various devices which ornament the roof may be observed the Arms of Edward the Confessor, Edward III, Edward the Black Prince, Henry VI, Henry VII, and Henry VIII. Also the Arms of France and England Quarterly, the Holy Cross, the Shield of St. George, the Rose, Portcullis, &c. &c.; the Arms of Bourchier, Stafford, Hastings, Beaufort, Manners, and other noble families intermingled with rich heraldic emblazonry.

the respective knights. At the back of each stall may be seen the brass plates, with the titles and armorial bearings of the knights to whom the seats have belonged since the foundation of the order. Many of these brasses are most beautifully executed, and are valuable as well for their ancient character.

THE ALTAR

Was formerly excessively rich in furniture and vessels of gold, but these were appropriated in 1642 for the maintenance of the Parliamentary forces. On the Restoration, the Sovereign and Knights, &c., cheerfully contributed what now appears the most ample supply of vessels and candelabra of the most exquisite workmanship.

THE ROYAL CLOSET.

Near the Altar is the Royal Closet, properly called the Queen's Gallery. It was designed for the use of the Queen and Ladies of the Court at the installations. Till very lately this beautiful closet was covered with plasterwash, but when the Chapel underwent a renovation in 1843, it was found to be carved in oak, which being restored, was richly embellished on the panels with the Royal Insignia, &c.

THE ORGAN.

This is one of the finest toned Choir Organs in Europe. It was built by Green, A.D. 1790. Several additions and alterations have been made to it, but those especially in 1843, by Messrs. Grey and Davison, of London, have made it truly worthy the place it occupies. The swell of this organ is generally admitted to be the most perfect in the kingdom. It possesses 37 stops, and also a pedal compass of the greatest extent.

THE WINDOW OF THE CHOIR

A MEMORIAL TO THE PRINCE CONSORT.

Formerly this window resembled very greatly the grand west window, but in the alterations from 1787 to 1790 the mullions and tracery were removed, and their place occupied by a painted glass window, representing the resurrection of our Saviour. Although the effect of this window was one which imparted grandeur to the Choir, yet, as being unecclesiastical in its character, its removal is not a matter of much regret. The window now restored to its original design, comprises four tiers of lights, and was designed by Mr. G. Scott. The stained glass has been admirably executed by Messrs. Clayton and Bell, representing a series of Scripture examples.

In the upper tiers Our Lord appears in Glory, rewarding the righteous, who cast their crowns before the Throne.

In the next tier, (seven lights) comprise the Resurrection; (four lights) four Old Testament characters, Abraham, Joseph, Samuel, and Daniel. The four opposite are the four Apostles, John, James, Bartholomew, and Barnabas.

:

Lower tier central subject, (seven lights) Adoration of Kings. Side lights: four Old Testament Kings of Judah, Asa, Jehosophat, Hezekiah, and Josiah. The other side, four New Testament righteous men, Nicodemus, Gamaliel, The Good Centurion, and Timothy.

The base of the window refers in a tier of 14 small subjects, to the Life of the Prince Consort-as a Husband and Father, as Chancellor of Cambridge, Master of Trinity House, as Presiding over Religion, Science, Art, Hospitals, &c., &c.

To the whole are annexed the Armorial Bearings of the Prince, with a Latin inscription.

Translation: "To the Honour of God and to the Memory of the most regretted Prince, the Dean and Canons deeply mourning have dedicated this window."

The Reredos, forming a part of the memorial (now in plaster) will be executed in alabaster, with details of great richness, and agreeing with the architecture of the Chapel. Its principal features are reliefs of the Ascension, and our Lord appearing to the disciples, and pronouncing "Peace be with you.”

The Very Rev. the Dean of Windsor and Canons, at their own expense, have contributed this Window as a fitting memorial to the Prince Consort.

THE WEST WINDOW.

This beautiful window, the arched part of which is illed with Royal Badges with the richest colouring of stained glass. The centre devices are those of King Edward III, King Edward IV, King Henry VII, and Queen Elizabeth. There are upwards of sixty figures of Saints, Prophets, Kings, and Knights in the window. On a scroll at the base of the lower compartments is inscribed the prayer which is peculiar to the service of the chapel, viz: "God save our Gracious Sovereign and all the Companions of the Most Honourable and Noble Order of the Garter."

The tomb of King Edward IV is on the north side of the altar, under a large stone. The iron work has been (by many writers) considered to be from the anvil of Quinten Matseys, but it was probably the handiwork of John Tresilan, the King's principal Smith. Till the

time of the Civil Wars this tomb was one of royal magnificence. Over the uppermost arch used to hang the King's Coat of Mail and Arms, gilt and covered with crimson velvet, and thereon the Arms of France and England, quarterly, richly embroidered with pearl and gold interwoven with rubies, all of which, together with the gilt ornaments, &c., were removed by the Parliamentary Forces A.D. 1642.

HENRY VIII. AND CHARLES I.

Under a stone in the centre of the Choir are deposited the remains of King Henry VIII, also his Queen, Jane Seymour. By the side of these the ill-fated Charles has his resting place. Much doubt had existed as to the place of this monarch's interment, but by an order from the Prince Regent A.D. 1813, a search was made, and the coffin found, covered with a rich black velvet pall, perfectly sound, whereon was a label marked King Charles, 1648.

In the same vault was buried a still-born child of the Princess of Denmark, (afterwards Queen Anne.).

BRASS LECTURN.

Near this vault stands the beautiful brass reading desk which for many years had been disused, but in 1843, when the Chapel underwent so much adornment and restoration, it was also repaired. It is an excellent specimen of brass workmanship, and is deservedly a pleasing object in the centre of the Choir.

THE WOLSEY CHAPEL.

This chapel, which is the Mausoleum of the Family of King George III, is situated at the east end, and is

« 上一頁繼續 »