網頁圖片
PDF
ePub 版

New York Historical Society Museum and Library

Source: An Official of the Institution

The New York Historical Society, founded in 1804, is open free upon weekdays, 10 A.M. to 5 P.M.; and on Sundays and holidays from 1-5 P.M. It is closed on Mondays, New Year's Day, July 4, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the month of August. The Society has occupied since 1908 the building on Central Park West between 76th and 77th Streets. The new wings were added in 1937-38, which include picture galleries as well as a greatly enlarged museum. The Society is supported by endowment funds and membership fees. The Society maintains a library, museum and gallery of art. The library contains 200,000 volumes and large collections of pamphlets, newspapers, prints, maps and manuscripts, all relating to American history.

with 1730.

The first newspaper printed in New York City was the New York Gazette, established in 1725 by William Bradford, the first printer in the Colony of New York. The society's file of this paper begins Here are to be found, also, a complete file of New York City Directories from the first one printed in 1786; an unusual collection of genealogical material; and an excellent local history section covering every state in the Union. The manuscripts include the Horatio Gates, James Duane, Rufus King, Albert Gallatin, James Alexander, Gen. John Lamb, Lord Stirling, Baron von Steuben, and Cadwallader Colden Papers, and 200 George Washington letters. They comprise the finest assemblage of documents in existence relating to the American side of the Revolutionary War, comparing favorably in scope with the collection of papers of British generals and statesmen who conducted the war in America, now in possession of the University of Michigan.

Also of importance are the original articles of Burgoyne's surrender; an orderly book record of Nathan Hale's execution; letters patent from Charles II to Edmund Andros, 1674, authorizing him to take over New Netherland from the Dutch Governor; Lord Cornbury's Charter to the City of New York; the correspondence of the American Fur Co. with its Western posts; and the manuscripts of Henry O'Reilly relating to the telegraph. The old New York prints cover the period from

the earliest View of the City, published in 1651, to modern times, and includes the Burgis View of the City, 1717, of which only one other copy is known; the Maverick View of Wall Street, about 1834, and the Tiebout Engraving of the City Hall on Wall Street.

The maps include the James Lyne survey of the city in 1731, published by William Bradford-the first engraved map of the city published-one of three known copies; the Dyckinck plan of 1755, the Ratzer map of 1767, and the Commissioner's map of 1811.

The museum occupies 5 floors and contains many relics of N. Y. and American history.

before the Revolutionary War, in this city, may be Of local relics the Beekman family coach, used mentioned, as well as the remains of the famous equestrian statue of King George III, and the statue of William Pitt (the Earl of Chatham). champion of the American cause in Parliament;

the original furniture of Federal Hall, where Washington was inaugurated first President, and an almost complete collection of the John Rogers plaster groups with many of the original bronzes. A collection of European and American folk arts, numbering 15,000 objects, was recently acquired. The Gallery of Art now numbers over 1,500 paintings, including old masters. Over 400 of the paintings are American portraits by such artists as Charles Willson Peale, Gilbert Stuart, John Wollaston, Benjamin West, Asher B. Durand, John Wesley Jarvis, and many others.

The Society also possesses the original water color drawings made by John James Audubon for his "Birds of America"-460 beautifully executed pictures.

Over a dozen carriages of the 19th century which were formerly used in New York City are exhibited here, as are relics of the old Volunteer Fire Department.

The Port of New York Gallery is given over to the maritime history of New York and is fitted in the style of a sailing vessel, from the "cabin" of which views of the New York skyline may be seen as it appeared at various times in its history.

The Hispanic Society of America

Source: Officials of the Institution

The Museum and Library of The Hispanic So-tuguese languages, literature, art and history. ciety of America occupy two buildings in the no- for the study of the countries wherein Spanish table group on Broadway, between 155th and 156th and Portuguese are or have been spoken lanStreets, Manhattan, which New York owes to the guages. public spirit and generosity of Archer M. Hunting- In furtherance of these aims a collection of ton, president of the Society, which he founded paintings, manuscripts, maps and coins, and a on May 18, 1904. The Main Building, which library of about 40,000 books was placed in the houses the museum and library, was formally charge of the society in 1904. These varied opened in January, 1908, and the North Building, collections have been increased and enriched so devoted to an exhibition of modern Spanish paint-that, for example the library now contains no ings, arts, and crafts, in November, 1930.

The museum is open from 10 to 4:30 daily, and on Sunday 'from 1 to 5. The exhibition rooms in the North Building are open on Sundays only. The reading room is open from 1 to 4:30 daily, except Sunday, Monday, holidays, and the month of August.

The deed of foundation provides for the establishment in the City of New York of a public library and museum designed to be a link between the English, Spanish and Portuguese speaking peoples. It provides also for the advancement of the study of the Spanish and Por

fewer than 100,000 volumes.

Though its home and headquarters are in America, the Hispanic Society is an international organization; its members, limited to 100 members and 300 corresponding members, include specialists and scholars of all countries who have become distinguished in the Hispanic field.

The society has held several notable exhibitions, among them those of the works of Sorolla, Zuloaga, Cervantes, and Lope de Vega, as well as of collections of sculpture, photographs, prints, etc., and has issued approximately 600 publications on Spanish history, literature and art.

Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation

Source: Officials of the institution

The Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation, at Broadway and 155th Street, Manhattan, forms one of the group of buildings which New York owes to the public spirit of Archer M. Huntington, who gave the site of the museum, which was built by the trustees at a cost of $250,000 and $100,000 for equipment. The fireproof limestone edifice was opened on Nov. 15, 1922. Three floors are devoted to exhibition rooms.

The Museum has over 2,000,000 exhibits and can display but about one-quarter of these at one time. The top floor is devoted to laboratories, work and study rooms, which are open under suitable conditions to students. Dr. George G. Heye, who founded the Museum and turned over to it nearly half a million specimens, is the director.

Individual trustees have given important special collections and meet the cost of field work. The exhibits are open to the public week days from 2 to 5 P.M., holidays excepted. Admission free.

The museum's sole aim is to gather and preserve for students everything useful in illustrating and elucidating the anthropology of the aborigines of the Western Hemisphere. Field work has been constantly pursued in all parts of the New World. The publications and monographs are notable. Mr. Huntington in 1925 gave to the Museum six acres, near Pelham Bay Park, between Eastern Boulevard, Middletown Road and Jarvis Ave. A modern storage and study museum building has been erected on the site. The library of the Museum, containing some 25,000 volumes, complete serial runs of the important periodical publications in its field, and many thousands of pamphlets, is deposited at the new building of Huntington Free Library and Reading Room, 9 Westchester Square, the Bronx. Its collections are available to all accredited students for research purposes from 10 A.M. to 5 P.M. daily, Sundays and holida excepted.

The American Museum of Natural History

Source: An Official of the Institution

The American Museum of Natural History, located on Central Park West at 79th Street, New York City, was founded and chartered in 1869. It is open free every day in the year: weekdays, and holidays except as specified, 10 A. M. to 5 P. M.. Sundays, New Year's and Independence Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas, 1 to 5 P. M. The Museum building is one of the largest municipal structures in the city, and has cost approximately $16,500,000. It has 23 acres of floor space, 13 of which are devoted to exhibits.

SUBWAY ENTRANCE

Several mechanically operated groups, together with exhibits of live specimens, to demonstrate various principles of animal behavior.

FIRST FLOOR

Collections illustrating the life of the Indians of the North Pacific Coast, the Eskimo, Indians of the Woodlands, Plains, and Southwest. Large groups (Hopi, Navajo and Apache) in the Southwest Hall. Forestry and Conservation Hall: North American trees, including section of a Bigtree of California which measures 162 feet in diameter inside the bark. The tree was 1,341 years old when cut down. Natural woods, with models of their leaves, flowers and fruits, and sections of the finished woods. Darwin Hall: Specimens, models and groups showing invertebrate life (Rotifer Group, Nahant Tide-Pool Group, Wharf-Pile Group): Tree of Life. Hall of Fishes, with groups (Shark, Sailfish, Deep-Sea, Tropical Ocean), Hall of Ocean Life: Coral Reef Group and Pearl Divers Groups; Lindbergh plane "Tingmissartoo" with equipment; shell collection; groups of marine mammals, skeletons of whales. Education Hall Auditorium.

SECOND FLOOR

In the Theodore Roosevelt Memorial, the geology, insects, reptiles, snakes, and mammals living and extinct, of New York State. Birds of the New York City region, both permanent and migratory. Four habitat groups commemorative of the life and ideals of Theodore Roosevelt.

of elephants and 14 habitat groups on this floor,
10 habitat groups on the third floor, a total of 24
groups of gorillas, antelopes, rhinoceroses, giraffe,
lions and other African mammals.
THIRD FLOOR

Collections from the living peoples of Asia: China, Japan, India, Siberia, Tibet, African ethnology. Hall of the Natural History of Man. Birds of North America (the famous habitat groups). Biology and evolution of mammals. Hall of Primates: Monkeys, Apes and Primitive Man. Hall of Insect Life, including habitat groups. Reptile Hall, including a number of beautiful groups (Lower California Lizard, Bullfrog, Giant Salamander, New England Spring, Komodo Lizard. Florida Swamp. Biology exhibits in relation to public health.

FOURTH FLOOR

Collections from the Philippine Islands and the South Seas. Hall of Minerals and Gems, containing the gifts of J. Pierpont Morgan and others. These collections include practically every variety of known gem, cut and uncut, some of remarkable size and purity of color. Drummond Hall, containing the famous Drummond Collection of carved jade, ivory and amber. Hall of Fossil Inverte brates and Historical Geology: Large collections; models of caves; model of Copper Queen Mine showing cross-sections and surrounding country; topogeologic and palegeographic models. Halls of the Age of Man: Casts of prehistoric men and skeletons of the animals of their time (mammoths, mastodons and giant ground sloths). Horse under Doméstication. Hall of Tertiary Mammals; Devoted to the great collections of the remains of creatures that lived from 1,000,000 to 60,000,000 years ago. These collections, by right of extent, variety, quality and methods of preparation and exhibition, are the finest in the world. Cretaceous and Jurassic. Dinosaur Halls: Remains of fossil reptiles that lived from 60,000,000 to 100,000,000 years ago. "Mummy" of dinosaur (Trachodon) in which the texture of the skin has been preserved, and the famous dinosaur eggs found by the MuFossil seum's Third Asiatic Expedition in 1923. fishes (tower room).

Material illustrating the life of prehistoric man. Ancient monuments of Mexico and Central America Indians of South America. Bird Dome, Birds of the World (systematic series of habitat groups). Mammals of North America. Vernay-Faunthorpe On the fifth floor are the public reference liHall of animals of southern Asia. Giant Panda. brary, the Osborn Library of Vertebrate PalaeonAkeley Memorial Hall of African mammals. Herd I tology, offices, laboratories and study collections.

WHITNEY WING

The eight-story Whitney Wing contains three this is the famous Rothschild collection, acquired for the Museum in 1932 by Mrs. Harry Payne Whitfloors of public exhibits-the Whitney Memorial Hall, the Hall of the Biology of Birds and the Gal-ney and her children, Mr. Cornelius Vanderbilt Whitney, Mrs. Barklie Henry and Mrs. G. Maccullery of Bird Art. Four of the remaining floors house loch Miller. On the top floor of the building there the largest study collection of birds in the world, is a series of modern laboratories designed for numbering 750,000 specimens. About a third of the study of living birds.

The Hayden Planetarium

Source: An Official of the Institution

The Drama of the Skies is unfolded in the Hay-quietest spot in New York because of its peculiar den Planetarium of the American Museum of sound-proof construction. Its domelike roof is a Natural History, where Man may stop the sun by series of concrete; then one of sound-deadening means of the Zeiss Projector which controls the cork; then one of wood; and, finally, the inside is stars in their courses. Here the sky can be repro-lined with strips of perforated stainless steel. On the horizon is the skyline of Manhattan. duced as it is today-as it was before the Age of Man, or as it will be thousands of years from

now.

The projector stands in the center of the circular theatre. It comprises over 120 magic-lantern, or stereopticon projectors. Each of these throws a picture of a portion of the sky upon the steel dome overhead. These many pictures, all matching together, fitting without gaps or overlapping, produce a panoramic replica of brilliant stars upon a dark blue sky. It is as if you were on a countryside under real stars.

About 9,000 stars, the Sun, the Moon, the Milky Way and the Planets are contained in this mechanism.

Unseen in the dark, with a control board before him, stands a lecturer who, by a myriad of switches can speed up the stars or slow them down. By means of a portable projector which flings an arrow on the sky, he can single out individual stars. He can, at will, produce the polar aurora and the glow of dawn.

The real heart of the planetarium is the projection room where technicians stand by to add whatver is needed by way of special lantern-slides or motion pictures. The planetarium is considered the

Indicative of the extent to which the planetarium can be employed to visualize not only the wonders, but also the drama, of the skies, are the various arrangements that can be made to put interesting cosmic events on parade. One of the most popular performances at the planetarium is that which attempts to explain the origin of the Star of Bethlethem, not as one star, but as close conjunction of Jupiter, Mars and Saturn.

Other dramas deal with Mysterious Mars, Color in the Sky, Our Sun, Waves from Space, and a Trip to the Moon.

Thrilling is another popular show which illustrates three of the ways by which the world may come to an end. One, by being struck by a major comet; one by being under constant bombardment of moon pieces created through the destruction of the moon by the stone-crusher of gravity and, thirdly, through the possible intrusion into our solar system by a hit-and-run star.

The planetarium is on 81st St., between Columbus Ave. and Central Park West. An admission fee is charged to repay the R. F. C. loan, but this does not apply to demonstrations for New York City public school children in classes.

The Buffalo, N. Y., Museum of Science

Source: Officials of the Institution

muda Coral Reef group with its dancing beam of sunlight, the Hall of Conservation with its famous spring and autumn wax flowers executed by the Marchand brothers, and the collection of Milestones of Science embracing first and early rare editions of the books epochal in the several fields of science.

The Buffalo Museum of Science, in Humboldt | Hoffman bronzes of selected racial types. the BerPark, was the first to plan and execute its exhibits so that they would tell a continuous and related story of man's scientific knowledge; it was the first to pioneer in work with children. It was the first museum in the country to devote halls exclusively to physics and chemistry, to astronomy, to genetics, and to public health, and it is the first to develop such an exhibit of prehistoric and primitive peoples as the Hall of Primitive Art. It is a pioneer in adult museum education and in evening exhibit hours to make the Museum available to business people.

Some of the outstanding points for visitors to see are: The Transparent Man, the Malvina

The organs of the Transparent Man are separately illuminated, enabling the observer to visualize human anatomy as though possessed of an Xray eye. The many other exhibits in that hall explain in a graphic way the mechanisms and functions of the human body and its organs and point the way to longer life and greater efficiency.

Albright Art Gallery

Source: An Official of the Institution

The Albright Art Gallery and the Buffalo, N. Y., Fine Arts Academy are under the same corporate ownership. The gallery is noted for its sculpture, including the original Lehmbruck Kneeling Woman; a 10th Century Cambodian Buddha Nagha; Rodin's Age of Bronze; Emil A. Bourdelle's Virgin of Alsace; and Ivan Mestrovic's Innocentia, a Yugo Slav work.

Among the paintings are Madonna and Child, by Luca Della Robbia; Gabriel Manigault, by Gilbert Stuart; Mrs. Gabriel Manigault, by Gilbert Stuart; Femme Cousant, by Berthe Morisot; Head of a Woman by Thomas Couture; Eleanor Jean and Anna, by George Bellows; Sycamores, by Daniel Garber; Boy and Angel, by Abbott H. Thayer; The Wedding, by Gari Melchers; Deux Danseuses en Jupes Vertes, by Edgar Degas; Promenade Au Bood de la mer, by Paul Gaugin; Algerian Girl, by Edy Le Grand, Dr. Stresemann, by Augustus John; The Sisters, by Giovanni Romagnola. A Gobelin tapestry shows Diana persuading Meleager to present the Boar's Head to Atalanta.

The Academy has set aside a particular room in the Albright Art Gallery dedicated to the continuous display of contemporary art. Special do

nations are being obtained which will form it principal sum that may be used over a period of years to acquire a collection representative of the best work of these times.

It is realized that such a room will succeed in its purpose only if it is understood from the beginning that its collection is experimental. Purchases are "on probation" and will be looked upon as subject to exchange, sale or other disposal according to the dictates of the room's administrators. No restrictive regulations will be considered desirable where they may prove embarrassing in later years. Indeed the whole worth of such a room will depend on recognition of the fact that buying in the modern field can succeed only when flexibility of movement is assured and rectification of error is possible.

The Academy conducts a professional art school which has reached thousands of young people and started many well-known artists on their artistic careers. It has furnished hundreds of talented men and women for the advertiing agencies of this and other cities. It has furnished about 85% of the teaching force of the public school drawing departments of the city.

Rochester, N. Y., Museum of Arts and Sciences

Source: An Official The Rochester Museum of Arts and Sciences in 1929 began to assemble complete collections which, step by step and grade by grade, would illustrate the school curriculum of the City of Rochester. The selection of material, motion pictures, models and actual raw material is so arranged that it fits into the immediate classroom needs of the teacher; 60,000 to 90,000 children are helped every month by this service.

The Museum, which is in Edgerton Park, is administered by the Municipal Museum Commission of the City of Rochester and the fields of interest covered by the activities of the museum, under the Commission, are those of: Industrial Science, Natural Science, Social Science and Education.

(a) Industrial Science covers the field of com

of the Institution

mercial and industrial activity within the region and is designed to illustrate the processes, products and uses of industrial articles produced within the

area.

(b) Natural Science includes geology and the biological sciences.

(c) Social Science includes the study of civil history, culture history, industrial geography and civics.

(d) The Educational division of the museum is largely carried on through extension work with adult and juvenile groups.

The Commission has authorized its museum to publish original articles covering the fields of research, general guides to the museum and to scientific subjects, and special monographs. The institution conducts expeditions in the field of geology, archaeology and biology.

Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences

Source: An Official The Brooklyn Museum on Eastern Parkway at Washington Avenue (Brooklyn Museum-Eastern Parkway Station of the IRT) is a general art museum arranged historically and geographically to illustrate the fine arts and other cultural products of world civilizations. Extensive South, Central and North American Indian collections. Collections of the Primitive Cultures of Africa and the Pacific Ocean. Assyrian, Greek and Roman material; one of the three best Egyptian collections in the country, which includes the Egyptian Loan Collection of the New York Historical Society. Medieval study collection, including both Byzantine and European objects. Renaissance collection illustrating the chief schools of Italy. The Department of Painting and Sculpture has an outstanding collection of American water colors, a comprehensive collection of American oils, and a comprehensive selection from European schools; also, European and American sculpture. Special collections of Chinese, Japanese, Indian and Near Eastern objects. Also textile and print collections. Free concerts, moving pictures and art coures are offered. Free services of the Industrial Division

The Museum

of the Organization
for designers in modern industries.
is open daily from 10 to 5, Sundays from 1 to 6.
Admission is free at all times.

The Brooklyn Children's Museum occupies two buildings on Brower Park and is accessible from the I.R.T., B.M.T., Independent and surface lines. In addition to work with school classes. the Museum specializes in free playtime activities for children in after-school hours, and on week-ends and holidays. Museum collections are not so much exhibited as placed in the hands of the children in shops, studios, playrooms, and on loan in homes and schools. Children are encouraged and assisted to make their own natural history collections on field trips organized by the Museum. Fine arts,' history, geography, mineralogy and biology are the subjects of children's clubs, supported by study collections, laboratory work, lectures, moving pictures, a library and other aids to educational and recreational work. The Museum is open free daily from 10 to 5; Sundays 2 to 5. The Institute also operates the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens and offers entertainment and courses of instruction at the Brooklyn Academy of Music.

Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago

Source: Officials of the Institution Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, is at Roosevelt Road and Field Drive, Chicago.

The exhibits, and the scientific study collections, are divided into four Departments-Anthropology, Botany, Geology and Zoology. Each of these includes many subdivisions such as archaeology, ethnology, plant economics, paleobotany, meteoritics, mineralogy, paleontology, mammalogy, ornithology, ichthyology, herpetology, etc. The N. W. Harris Public School Extension, a separately endowed department of the Museum, circulates more than 1,200 traveling exhibits among the schools, and the James Nelson and Anna Louise Raymond Foundation for Public School and Children's Lectures, likewise separately endowed, provides lectures, motion pictures, guide-tours, and other services supplementing the educational work of the schools, both within and outside the Museum. For the benefit of scientists, and the public at large as well, the Museum maintains a library of more than 118,000 volumes.

The Museum has recently opened a new Hall of Babylonian Archaeology containing the results of ten years' collecting and eight additional years of research on the site of the ancient city of Kish in what is now Iraq.

A unique exhibit, occupying an entire hall, is the famous Races of Mankind series of sculptures in bronze and stone, representing types of the principal living peoples in all parts of the world. These are the work of the noted sculptor Malvina Hoffman. Complementing this series is the Hall of the Stone Age in which types of prehistoric men, from the Chellean period (about 250,000 years ago) down to the dawn of history (about 6,000 B. C.) are restored, life-size, in dioramas depicting scenes and activities of their times. The Department of Anthropology includes also exceptionally extensive archaeological and ethnological collections representative of the Indians of North. Central and South America; ancient Egypt, Babylonia, Etruria and Rome; China, Tibet, and other parts of Asia; Africa; and the various island groups of the South Pacific.

Field Museum is the first general natural history museum to give to the science of botany attention and space comparable to that of other departments. Its botanical exhibits, occupying five large halls, give a general idea of the plant world, its range of forms, and its relation to human life. In the Hall of Plant Life is a display of characteristic forms of plants from the lowest minute species such as bacteria and algae (represented as they would be seen through a microscope) to the highest forms reproduced in meticulous detail as they

appear in life. A feature of this hall is a large diorama reproducing part of an alpine meadow In the Rocky Mountains with its characteristic vegetation. Two halls are devoted to plant economics (food plants, palms, and plant materials used in industry), and two to woods (North American. and foreign).

The Department of Geology's exhibits are classified in two groups, one illustrating the scientific, the other the economic and industrial relations of mineral products of the earth. The department is especially notable also for its great hall of paleontology, and for possession of the most complete collection of meteorites in the world. In the division of paleontology, in addition to a large and important collection of fossil skeletons of prehistoric animals, there is an extensive series of large mural paintings by Charles R. Knight showing these extinct creatures as scientific research indicates they must have appeared in life, and several three-dimensional exhibits restoring important species in life-size. There is also a large exhibit representing in life-size a section of a forest of the Coal Age.

Exhibits in the Department of Zoology include a classified series where each important animal can be found in its proper place; special habitat groups of the animals of different countries showing their habits and natural surroundings; and preparations of animals or parts of animals to illustrate facts, and theories, about them in their relation to each other and to man. The habitat groups are outstanding in number and variety, interest and beauty. Five entire halls are devoted to these, and others are in preparation. The largest, Carl E. Akeley Memorial hall, devoted to African game animals, contains the principal taxidermic masterpieces of the well-known naturalist and sculptor for whom it is named. Among the groups in the hall of Asiatic animals is one of giant pandas, containing the first specimens of this animal ever to reach the United States or to be obtained by white hunters (they were collected in 1928 by Colonel Theodore Roosevelt and Kermit Roosevelt, while leading a Field Museum expedition). Other halls are devoted to groups illustrating the ecology of North and South American mammals, marine mammals, and birds.

Admission is always free to children; to adults Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays; other days the entrance fee is 25 cents. Hours 9 A. M. to 4 P. M. in November, December, January and February; 9 A. M. to 5 P. M. in March, April, September and October; 9 A. M. to 6 P. M. in May, June, July and August.

Oriental Institute

Source: An Official of the Organization

The Oriental Institute of the University of implements-Pleistocene-go back to the beginning Chicago is a research laboratory for the investigation of the early human career, which is now believed to have occurred in the ancient Near East, the region folded like a horse shoe around the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea.

The Institute operates from its American headquarters at the University, where it carries on researches of its field expeditions.

Somewhat east of its earliest course the Nile drainage began to cut a channel which finally deepened and expanded into the present Nile Valley. Along this later Nile the Institute's Survey discovered a stretch of over 60 miles of former Nile bed (now dry) some 60 feet in depth, and at the bottom of this gravel bed they found stone implements wrought by the hands of man and marking the advent of man in Egypt. The age of these

of the European Ice Age, and are therefore the oldest human implements yet found in the Near East. They may date, the Survey says, anywhere from several hundred thousand to a million years ago. It was in the Nile Valley that the earliest known society arose at the dawn of civilization.

The oldest centers of early civilization in Western Asia were along the east end of the Highland Zone (the zone extends from the Aegean Sea eastward and southeastward to Persia), and in Babylonia and Syria.

In the Institute headquarters there is a series of five exhibition halls in which are displayed representative collections of objects from the field, some acquired by purchase but most of them drawn from the Institute's field expeditions.

There is a roll of the Egyptian Book of the Dead, and many Arabic and other manuscripts.

Museum of Natural History, Eugene, Ore.

Source: Officials of the Institution

The Museum of Natural History is connected with the University of Oregon, in Eugene. It has collections relating to geology, botany, zoology and anthropology.

Included in the Condon Museum of Geology is material from the John Day fossil beds in central Oregon; collections of minerals arranged according to the Dana classifications; an educational set of rocks and minerals, given by the U. S. Geological Survey; suites of fossils, both vertebrate and invertebrate, from various regions in the western part of the American continent; a complete skeleton of the saber-tooth tiger from the Rancho La

Brea near Los Angeles, Calif.

The Herbarium has mounted specimens from Oregon and the Pacific Northwest, with several thousand from the eastern states and the Philippines.

The anthropological collections of the University were designated by the Legislature (1935) as the Oregon State Museum of Anthropology. The collections consist of skeletal material and of cultural material from both archeological and contemporary sources.

The University has about 5,000 specimens of vertebrates available for study.

Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, D. C.

Source: Officials of the Institution

The collection of paintings is particularly representative of American artists. The sculptures include casts from the antique and Renaissance. as well as original works in marble and bronze. There are over 100 original bronzes by Antoine Louis Barye, French sculptor, of animals.

quities; furniture; stained glass windows; etc.
The building is open to the public on Mondays
from noon to 4:30 P. M., other week days 9:00
A. M. to 4:30 P. M., Sundays and holidays from
New York Avenue and 17th St. N.W.
2:00 to 5:00 P. M. The institution is located at

The Corcoran School of Art, also endowed by the founder, is open from October to May, inclusive, with no tuition fee, the only expense being an annual entrance fee of $25 and the cost of the stu

The W. A. Clark Collection, received in 1928, contains paintings by Dutch, French, English and other masters; a fine collection of Persian rugs, especially Ispahan; tapestries; laces; faience; anti-dent's materials. Alabama State Museum

Source: Officials of the Institution

The State Museum, University, Ala., contains in | State. the geological section, 20,000 specimens and sam- A tract of 175 acres of land comprising the ples of the ores and minerals of that State and over 7,500 specimens from all over the world. There is a large collection of fossils from the Cretaceous and Tertiary ages of Alabama and the Gulf Coast, and others from abroad. Of marine shells there are over 300,000, native and foreign. The herbarium of 2,500 species of ferns and flowering plants is practically complete as to Alabama. Colombia is represented by 150 species of ferns. Also in the museum are more than 9,000 species and 80,000 specimens of beetles; 900 specimens of 216 species of Alabama birds; and 1,400 specimens of the reptiles and batrachians of that

archaeological relics at Moundsville is owned by the museum. There are 36 mounds in the area, which have yielded many thousands of objects and a quantity of skeletal material during the past six years; also collections of both artifacts and skeletons, with accompanying data, from northeastern Arkansas, secured during comparative studies of cultures similar to those in parts of Alabama; King collection of stone objects from Kentucky, numbering 2,000; Fletcher collection of objects from northeast Arkansas, numbering 300 specimens most of which are pottery: 30 burial urns. with accompanying data.

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Source: An Official of the Institution

Philip P. Barbour and the artist (G. P. A. Healy);
John Elliott (Cornelis Janssens: Janssens van
Ceulen).

The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, in Richmond, head, the Bryan family, Mrs. John Barton Payne, opened to the public on Jan. 16, 1936, is located on the R. E. Lee Camp Soldiers' home grounds. Among the founders was the late John Barton Payne who gave money and his collections of pictures, etchings, books, furniture, and carvings. Among the paintings in the permanent collection in the museum are:

Holy Family (Andrea del Sarto); Landscape and Cattle (Nicolaas Berchem); Portrait of a Scholar (Ferdinand Bol); Pocahontas (Richard N. Brooke); Grand Canal Venice (Antonio G. Canaletto); Wind in the East (Emil Carlsen); Hilda Spong (William M. Chase); Crossing the Stream (Walter Clark); Portrait of a Lady (Claudio Coello).

Lord Spencer (John Singleton Copley); Interior of Kitchen (Jacob Carnelis Delff); James Barbour (Chester Harding); Looking Into the Little South Room (Childe Hassam); Separate Portraits of John C. Calhoun, Henry Clay, Henry W. Longfellow, Daniel Webster, Mrs. Lucy Page White

Landscape (H. Bolton Jones); Ecce Homo (Jean Jouvenet); Sylvan Landscape (William Keith); Evelyn Byrd (Sir Godfrey Kneller); Portrait of a Gentleman (Nicholas de Largilliere); Lord Byron (Sir Thomas Lawrence); Portrait of a Lady (Sir Peter Lely); Judge Payne; Madonna of the Rappahannock; the Last Supper (Gari Melchers); Betrayal of Christ (Adam F. van der Meulen).

Isle in the Seine (Claude Monet) adoration of the Shepherds; Adoration of the Magi (Murillo); Italian Landscape (Gaspard Poussin); Madonna of the Cherries (Raibolini); Magdalen (Guido Reni); Lady Doubleday (Sir Joshua Reynolds); Rescue of St. Catherine (Peter Paul Rubens); Italian Seaport (Claude Vernet); Gentleman With a Goldheaded Can (Gilbert Stuart). There are two portraits by Thomas Sully.

Mint Museum of Art
Source: An Official of the Institution

At

The Mint Museum of Art, Charlotte, N. C., is a rebuilt structure, in Eastover Park. It was the first mint in the United States, established in 1835. that time the Southern Appalachian Region was the only gold mining area in this country.

Thomas A. Edison came to Charlotte in 1901 to look into the subject of gold in the South. He worked in the building for two years, making experiments in the process of separating gold from ore by means of electricity, but he became discouraged because he found that gold did not exist in sufficient quantity to warrant the kind of operations in which he was interested.

The Museum has a promising beginning of a permanent collection of art objects. A few of the paintings are listed as follows: "Madonna and Child," by Francesco Granacci; "Queen Charlotte," by Allan Ramsay; "Woman in Black," by John W. Alexander; "Quiet Corner," by John W. Alexander, "The Golden Hour," by William Hart; "Stone House, Old Lyme, Conn.," by Childe Hassam; "The Baptism of Virginia Dare," by George Ade; "Spring," by Bolton Jones, and a portrait of Flora Macdonald, gift of friends of the museum. The eagle from the facade of the old building has been restored by Mrs. S. B. Alexander and is held as one of the museum's choicest treasures.

The Mariners' Museum, Newport News, Va.

Source: Officials of the Institution

Va..

was

The Mariners' Museum, Newport News. a tract of nearly 1,000 acres which includes Lake Maury, formed by damming an estuary (Waters Creek) of the James River. The museum founded by Archer Milton Huntington and was chartered (June 2, 1930). The park and lake are stocked and are a game sanctuary.

A model-making shop equipped with modern tools was installed at the Museum. The output of this shop now on display at the Museum consists of models of Fulton's Clermont; Tug John Twohy, Jr.; Morgan Liner El Sud; Dollar Liner President Coolidge; Freight Steamer Agwidale; U. S. Ironclad Monitor; U. S. Frigate Merrimac; C. S. Ironclad Virginia; River Steamer Jamestown, Yacht Viking: Confederate blockade runner Hope; Standard Oil tanker John D. Archibald; a Confederate blockade runner.

There has been accumulated a sharpie from New Haven, a sponge fishing boat from Florida, a sampan, a Tahitian pirogue. a small Dutch sailing yacht, a felucca from San Francisco Bay,

fishing boats from Portugal and Spain, a typical Yankee whaleboat made by Beetle of New Bedford, a Chesapeake Bay log canoe and a 50-ft. "bugeye"; an Indian war canoe from Vancouver, and other wood canoes, kayaks and dugouts from the West Indies, Canada, Florida and other lo calities.

Bronze and iron cannon and small arms are well represented, as are swords, cutlasses, knives, boarding hatches and pikes.

The navigational instruments include astrolabes, cross staffs, various forms of quadrants and sextants, compasses, barometers, hour glasses, watches. clocks and chronometers.

The hand tools used by ship carpenters, coopers, riggers, sail makers, rope makers and chronometer makers illustrate the great changes which have occurred in a relatively short time when these tools are compared with the modern equipment of shipyards and of the makers of auxiliaries.

The influence of the sea is illustrated by ship decorated china, postage stamps, medals, coins and paper money.

« 上一頁繼續 »