« 上一頁繼續 »
us ; they merit our warmest thanks for their earnest devotion to the interests of the school, and they carry with them, into their new spheres of duty, our best wishes for their continued prosperity.
The vacancies thus occasioned were filled by the appointment of Mr. Barrett B. Russell, Principal of a large Grammar School in Dedham, and Miss Clara A. Armes, First Assistant in a Grammar School in Newton. They are members of the class graduated from this school in January, 1869. Both were able and successful teachers in the positions from which they were called, and have fully sustained that reputation in their present work.
The instructors at the present time are :- Albert G. Boyden, A.M., Principal; George H. Martin, Francis H. Kirmayer, Barrett B. Russell, Eliza B. Woodward, Mary H. Leonard, Clara A. Armes, Mary A. Currier, all of whom are thoroughly devoted to their work, Principal and assistants coöperating cordially with each other in promoting the best interests of the institution.
The salaries of Messrs. Kirmayer and Russell are not so high as they should be, and probably another female teacher will be needed next term.
The most important event in the history of the school during the past year, was the enlargement and improvement of the school building. The Committee of the Board appointed to take charge of this business, employed Mr. Boyden as their agent, to superin. tend the work in all its departments. He has performed this service with fidelity and good judgment, and to the entire satisfaction of the committee. The report of Mr. Boyden, as superintendent of the work for the enlargement of the school-house is here inserted.
BRIDGEWATER, December 29th, 1871. To the Committee of the Board of Education for the Enlargement of the Bridge water Normal School Building, Messrs. JOHN D. PHILBRICK, JOSEPH WHITE A. A. MINER.
DEAR SIRS :-I herewith submit to you my report of the work entrusted to me in the superintendence of the enlargement of the Bridgewater Normal School Building.
The resolve of the Legislature authorizing the expenditure of a sum not exceeding $15,000, to be paid out of the moiety of the income of the school fund applicable to educational purposes, for the enlargement and reconstruction of this building, was approved May 12, 1871.
The plans for the enlargement were carefully matured after visiting and examining several other school buildings recently erected and much study of the building to be altered, Solomon K. Eaton, Esq., of Mattapoisett was employed as architect to make the working plans and elevations. After careful estimates of the cost of the work had been obtained from different parties the contract for carpenter and mason work and painting was given to Mr. Eaton, the architect. It was provided in the contract that the new cases for the cabinet therein specified should be built at cost and all extra work should be done at the same rate.
The building has been enlarged by adding a story sixteen feet in height, and greatly improved in external appearance by an observatory on the centre, a new roof with heavier projections and a new cornice and a band between the first and second stories with quoins upon the pilasters of the lower story.
The first story contains the ante-rooms for the students, four recitation rooms, a room for philosophical apparatus and a chemical laboratory. Upon the second floor are five commodious recitation rooms, with alcoves and cases for the library and cabinets. The third story contains the main school-room, a spacious hall, well ventilated, light and very cheerful, the senior recitation room and the Principal's room. It is now one of the most pleasant and convenient school buildings in the State.
The work on the building was commenced July 12, immediately on the close of the spring term, and was so far completed at the end of the summer vacation that the school could go on with its usual work. Mr. Eaton deserves much credit for the energy and fidelity with which he fulfilled his contract.
These changes in the building created the necessity for new heating and ventilating apparatus. The two McGregor furnaces which warmed the building before the enlargement have been in use for ten years, are nearly worn out, and will last only through the present winter. Estimates were obtained for heating and ventilating the building by steam after the plan which has proved so admirably effective in the boarding hall. The appropriation was found sufficient to procure only the ventiducts necessary for this plan. These were put into the construction of the building, and two portable furnaces were added to the heating apparatus for use during the present winter, which can be readily sold another year, leaving the steam-heating apparatus to be provided for by another appropriation.
The appropriation of $15,000 has been expended as follows by the direction of the committee:
. . .
S. K. Eaton, architect, . . . . . .
These bills have all been paid and the receipts returned to the treasurer of the Board, with the exception of those now accompanying this report.
The contractor has delivered the building free from all claims upon it, as per terms of the contract. All which is respectfully submitted.
A. G. BOYDEN, Superintendent.
In accordance with the facts presented in the foregoing report, the Visitors recommend that the legislature be requested to make the necessary appropriation for furnishing the school building with steam-heating apparatus.
A second year's experience in the boarding-hall has more than confirmed the estimate of its utility given in our last report, and more urgently presses upon us the necessity for its enlargement. It is no longer an experiment; its success is beyond question. It is now indispensable to the maintenance of the school, and a further increase in the number of students is not to be expected until additional boarding accommodations are provided.
There is now as much difficulty in obtaining the requisite boarding places outside the hall, as there was to get suitable boarding places before the hall was built. There is the additional difficulty arising from the difference between the price of board in the hall and in private families, the latter being $1.25 per week more than the former. Those who are excluded from the hall are more or less dissatisfied. Already numbers of pupils have been prevented from entering the school on account of the high prices of board in private families, and the difficulty of obtaining suitable board at any price. And some pupils now in attendance will be compelled to leave unless some relief in respect to board is provided.
In view of these facts the Visitors would renew, with increased earnestness, the request made last year for an enlargement of the boarding-hall. If this improvement is made at the same time with the furnishing of the new heating apparatus for the schoolhouse, a considerable saving might be made by combining the apparatus for both buildings.
The Visitors expect to be able to lay before the Board, at its next meeting, estimates of the expense of enlarging the boardinghall, and heating the school building.
We would again remind the Board of the desirableness of providing a new and suitable fence for the school grounds.
In conclusion, the Visitors take great pleasure in reporting the school, with exception of the needs above referred to, in a highly satisfactory condition, and as a simple act of justice we desire to say with emphasis, that the prosperity of the school is due in a large measure to the untiring labors and the judicious management of the capable and worthy Principal.
JOHN D. PHILBRICK,
SALEM. The Salem Normal School has enjoyed a year of great prosperity. Its excellent Principal, D. B. Hagar, Ph. D., compelled to relax his toil and withdraw from duty during a portion of the preceding year, has been at his post continually during the last year, as have also his efficient assistants, with the exception of Miss Mary E. Webb. In consequence of ill health, Miss Webb, for a long time one of the most successful teachers in the school, has been obliged to suspend her labors, and to seek a restoration to health in a foreign land. Her duties have, in part, been most acceptably performed by Miss E. Adelaide Towle, a member of the advanced class.
The statistics for the year 1871, were as follows:
1. The whole number of pupils since the opening of the school, September 13, 1854, is 1,453.
The number in attendance during the first term of the year, 152; during the second term, 158; number of different pupils duriug the year, 213.
Number admitted February 14, 1871, 25; average age, 18.83 years. Number admitted August 29, 1871, 59; average age, 18.36 years.
2. Of the 84 pupils admitted during the year, Salem sent 11; Lowell, 8; Lynn and Peabody, 5 each ; Chelsea and Swampscott, 4 each ; Manchester, Somerville and Wakefield, 3 each ; Haverhill, Lynnfield Centre, Malden, Newburyport and Andover, 2 each ; Danvers, Danvers Centre, Dunstable, East Boston, East Saugus, Franklin, Gloucester, Ipswich, Lynnfield, Marblehead, Marshfield, Medford, Medway, Methuen, North Reading, Sterling and Topsfield, 1 each. The State of New Hampshire sent 6; New York, 2; Maine, Pennsylvania and Vermont, 1 each.
Of the 213 pupils present during the year, Essex County sent 125; Middlesex, 40 ; Suffolk, 9 ; Norfolk, 5; Worcester, 5; Plymouth, 3; Bristol, 2; Barnstable, 1; Nantucket, 1. The State of Maine, 3 ; New Hampshire, 13; Vermont, 1; New York, 2; New Jersey, 1 ; Pennsylvania, 1 ; Iowa, 1; Louisiana, 1.
3. The fathers of the pupils admitted during the year, are, by occupation, as follows: Farmers, 14; carpenters, 12; overseers, painters and shoe manufacturers, 3 each ; blacksmiths, brokers,